Toy farms and Tulips

I am sitting in the car outside Munchkin’s ballet school, waiting for her lesson to finish. All I can think of is chocolate. I haven’t had Godwin’s hot chocolate since last week and haven’t had any chocolate at all (except for the chocolaty side to the Brunch Bars I’ve taken to having as a morning snack…but that doesn’t really count, does it?) for the past week either. It might be my hormones because I’m also craving a cigarette. Come to think of it, my hormones are to blame for a lot of things lately, not least my increasing desire to procreate. Just before coming to ballet, Munchkin pointed out a very sweet toy farm which I had bought her when she was two. She hasn’t played with it in ages and suggested that we give it to her little cousin. It’s usually me who encourages her to give away toys she doesn’t anymore use, but today the suggestion came from her. When I hinted that one day she might have a baby brother or sister to give it to, she told me she didn’t want to have any siblings. I was gutted. I found myself arguing with her and trying to convince her that it would be a good idea not to be an only child. It has come to this.

Let’s not get started on that topic again. Not for now, at least. So today The Man surprised me by painting the living room while I was at work. Isn’t he the best? :-) He did a great job but since I’m not one to ever be completely satisfied, I have now started noticing even more how atrocious the sofas and the table look. I know that they are there temporarily and that eventually we’ll get the ones we want, but they stick out like a sore thumb against the perfectly smooth and clean walls. Talking about tables, my absolute favourite table of all time has to be the Tulip by Eero Saarinen. It’s so elegant and simple and I much prefer round tables to square or rectangular ones as you can fit more people around them and they’re more sociable, don’t you think?

The Tulip...one day you'll be mine. One day.

3 thoughts on “Toy farms and Tulips

  1. i remember that table very well…i collect livingetc! i remember thinking it wasn’t very child friendly and it would NEVER fit in our dining area!:-) the Tulip, on the other hand…

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

