“What is a weekEND?”*

The husband just left for a weekend away with the boys and I’m already drowning my sorrows in gorgonzola and pot noodles. We’ll miss him sorely and this time I can safely say that the girls might miss him even more than me. Robin is going through a phase of attachment with him that rivals the one Maia had with me at her age (which is saying something) and Maia will probably shed tears every night at the thought of not being able to kiss him goodnight.

But.

I have already planned a few things that will help make the next few days more enjoyable. There are some crafts to be made to celebrate the Chinese New Year (remember last year’s dragon?), a few Valentine’s cards to be made, a lot of dressing up to do (it’s Carnival weekend, the one I most detest) and a lot of Downton Abbey-ing for me to do when the kids go to bed at night.

Speaking of which, are you a fan of Downton Abbey? I first heard of it two years ago from a friend who has impeccable taste, so I should have checked it out there and then but I didn’t. Boy did I kick myself when I finally got down to starting it a few months ago! I’ve been addicted to it from the first episode but am so scared of finishing the three series too quickly that I’ve been spacing out the viewings over the past couple of months! I’m now halfway through season two and will likely finish watching all available episodes the next few nights. I’ve also discovered a whole world created by the fans of the series. There are blogs, forums and, of course, merchandise that makes me want to put the kettle on and not get off the computer for a whole day!

As you know, I’m trying to stay away from the computer as much as I can, so that won’t be happening any time soon. That won’t stop me from bookmarking them for later viewing, however. I have a feeling I’ll be sleep-deprived by the time the husband is back!

This made me chuckle! How weird is it that we don't bat an eyelid at the romance between Mary and Matthew?!

This made me chuckle! How weird is it that we don’t bat an eyelid at the romance between Mary and Matthew?!

* For the uninitiated, that’s a quote from the Dowager Countess (Maggie Smith). She’s got the best lines, delivered to perfection. She cracks me up with every line she utters.

 

2 thoughts on ““What is a weekEND?”*

  1. Three cheers for Downton Abbey! I’m not the biggest tv series fan, and I don’t like the way its so easy to get sucked in and obsess over one, but Downton Abbey is my favourite :) British period drama? What more do we need?!

    Btw, its also my go-to series when my fiance is on a work-trip and it makes the alone time better :)

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

