Summer so far

I don’t even know where to start but I can feel a whole list of excuses for my absence coming up. The truth is, this is the first time I’m sitting at an actual computer since the last time I wrote. The rest of the time, I’ve only been online through the phone or iPad, both of which are not very conducive to writing.

However, I do have a couple of really good excuses. First off, my sister finally gave birth to her second daughter. Her name is Marta and I’m madly in love with her. I’m now an aunt to eight (plus two gorgeous girls from the husband’s side of the family) and each time a new baby is added to the family, this strange and powerful kind of love overcomes me. It’s almost as powerful as the love I feel for my own girls and it’s strange for that very same reason. These children are my blood too, they’re family, but they don’t keep me up at night and I don’t have to do the nappy-changing and tantrum-handling with them. So I’m free to just love them and that’s fine with me. In Marta’s case, it’s more than fine. She came at a point where my pining for a third child has sort of reached a plateau. I’m half-resigned at the idea of that never becoming a reality. While the other half of me continues to wonder and long for a sweet-smelling bundle of tenderness, I get to hold this perfect little babe as she snoozes peacefully.

marta aug13

My second excuse is reading. I had heard of The Hunger Games when the film came out last year but never watched it, simply because the name didn’t make any sense to me (I’m rolling my eyes at myself as I write this). Then I saw the film a few weeks ago while I was bedridden with a stomach bug and I loved it. The very next day, I started reading the book and finished reading the whole trilogy a few days ago. So, every waking hour I wasn’t required to feed, clothe, wash, entertain, drive around and cuddle children, I was reading these books. If you haven’t read them yet, do so. I loved them all and, by the end of it, didn’t want to leave the world Suzanne Collins created.

I don’t have much else to add, except that the book drive is doing amazingly well! We have started receiving books from other countries as well as from fellow islanders. If I have to be honest, I’m a little overwhelmed by the response. I have also been approached by a local newspaper to talk more about it, so I’ll let you know when that happens. If you wish to donate a book (or as many as you wish), be it new or second hand, please contact me on islandfairy@hotmail.com. Thanks to all of you spreading the word!

