Robin reads

I’ve been planning to write another Robin Reads post for weeks, but the time or will to write has been little lately. I’m hoping cooler weather will eventually motivate me to sit down at the computer for longer than five seconds.

We have moved on from The Owl and The Pussycat and have discovered old favourites of Maia’s. These are the ones we read everyday, both at naptime and bedtime:

Lullabyhullaballoo! by Mick Inkpen (of Kipper fame). She loves the fold-out pages, the colourful illustrations which are full of detail, saying SHHH! with every page we read and the little mice which make an appearance on some pages. I love how engaged she is with every page we turn and that the last page always makes her laugh.

Lullabyhullaballoo

Dogs Don’t Do Ballet by Anna Kemp. This was one of the books we bought for Maia from Shakespeare & Company in Paris a few years ago.  Maia and I spent many a bedtime reading this sweet book and I was very happy when Robin got hooked onto it too. For Maia, it was the very notion of a dancing dog that endeared this book to her. For Robin, it’s trying to spot the dog hiding on each page and seeing the ballerina fall off the stage. If that doesn’t say anything about how different the girls are, then I don’t know what does!

dogs don't do ballet

Then there is Zoe and Beans: Pants on the Moon! by Chloe and Mick Inkpen (Inkpen again!). We got this book from Shakespeare & Company as well, but last December. Maia couldn’t put it down and read it while walking along the boulevards and on the metro! I love this book, not only for its distinctive Inkpen illustrations, but also for the subtle puns only adults would understand (like Squeezyjet Airlines). Robin likes following Zoe and Beans as they fly to the moon. I’m sure the illustrations are another big reason she likes this book.

zoe and beans

zoe and beans in paris

Last but not least, we still have to ‘read’ (I recite it without even using the book while I cradle her) Goodnight Moon everytime. That’s the true sign of a classic.

 

