Let’s talk about you

For someone who has a running commentary going on in her head all day and most of the night, I’m finding it hard to write this post.

Island Fairy started as a creative outlet and a place where I could keep a record of everyday life for my then only daughter to look back on when she grew up. As more people started reading it, it no longer remained solely my diary but became also a place where I knew other people would share their opinions and thoughts about whatever it was I wrote about. For some reason (I’m looking at you Instagram and Facebook), comments became less frequent and I started wondering whether I was talking to myself when writing. I still receive emails from readers every now and then and WordPress makes sure I’m kept informed of the number of people visiting this blog, but I do miss the comments.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that I would really love for you to share your thoughts or ideas with me and other readers, for a discussion to be created between readers. Now would also be a good time to introduce yourselves and your blog (if you write one). What are your interests? What blog posts do you enjoy reading the most? If there wasn’t this screen between us, I’d bombard you with more questions because I’m genuinely curious about people, especially those who keep coming back here to read my rants.

You must be pretty special to be willing to spend a few precious minutes reading my words. Thank you! I hope to get to know you too.

20140227-143743.jpg

16 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Sorry for just reading and leaving… At an all time low atm, and I’m better off keeping comments to myself… Dont ever stop doing what you do…

  2. I know what you mean. Because I update very sporadically my comments are low. And also I don’t share my blog on FB. but we’re here reading and enjoying πŸ™‚ in fact recently I read your old posts about Robin being born. Wanted to see if you had written any tips or words of wisdom πŸ™‚

    • I doubt there was much wisdom to be gleaned! I wanted to comment on your post of today (yesterday?) but need to be at a computer as the iPad is not allowing me to. I look forward to reading more about Tom and your new adventures in parenting! And thanks for still reading! It means a lot to me.x

  3. hi maureen, we still follow πŸ™‚ don’t write much and don’t follow instagram at all anymore… i follow mostly through email updates.. love the posts πŸ™‚

  4. Harrro preassseee πŸ™‚ *waves*

  5. I love reading your posts especially when they are more frequent. I tend not to comment since I either read these posts on my phone from which it takes ages to comment, or else I read the posts at work in between builds so I don’t have much time to comment.

    What I like in your posts is that your style of writing is nice. I like the blog since I love following blogs written open-minded Maltese persons. I don’t live on the rock anymore but from people like you I can see what life in Malta (or Gozo in your case) looks like for a thirty-something woman.

    Plus I love blogs of mothers who post so many cute pictures of their kids. Makes me look forward to be a mother myself.

  6. I read your Twitter entries daily and read your blog entries too :). Usually when I’m sipping coffee in the bedroom ostensibly getting ready for work and the school run, with my impatient eldest banging on the door with a piercing ‘we’re going to be late! !!!’ yell to bring me back to reality…. (we rarely are late actually, but this happens every single day). Not that your blog/twitter feed isn’t real; I read it mainly because it is so honest and real, so colourful.. it brings a positive start to my day. So thank you for sharing xxx Sorry if I don’t comment too often, but I know you understand.

  7. Hi Maureen πŸ™‚ I have read a few of your posts but regrettably never replied… Most times, I actually leave the tab open to come back to it and reply but I get caught up in taking care of my LO that most of the time I feel like it would be too late to reply lol. I have enjoyed following you (such beautiful images) and totally relate to your posts and comments about the little island :P…I lived there for a while. I admire how open and honest you are as I still struggle with how much to share on my blog, so thanks for sharing, its really pretty inspirational! x

    • Thank you for your kind words, Lorinda. I’m glad you can keep an eye on the smaller island through my blog! πŸ˜€ I appreciate you taking the time to read my words and also to leave this comment. I know how precious time is when there’s a baby in the house! Well, I’m assuming it’s a baby! Thanks again and I hope to see your name more around here. πŸ™‚

What are your thoughts? Share them here!