Random thoughts

Yesterday I was congratulated, for the THIRD time this month, for being pregnant. Yes, it happened again after that shocking first time. So as soon as I got home I got the scales out, dusted them off and weighed myself. I am a whopping 6 kilos heavier than my ideal weight and no, I’m NOT pregnant! I know I’ve already vouched I would watch what I eat and that I’d start exercising but I’m all good intentions and no will power. But this has got to stop. I will, yet again, do my very best to start eating low GI again, which is the best option for someone who’s always hungry like me. I have also started doing a bit of yoga following one of the 12 (!) DVDs a friend gave me. I can only say that the first 20 minutes of yoga of my life were great and they also served to remind me I’m not the seemingly jointless person I once used to be. I was horrified at how stiff and limited my body has become.

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Apart from cards, gifts and all things cute, we also sell newspapers at the shop. One of the local newspapers we sell is called Passa and is aimed at a portion of our population which calls itself ‘conservationist’. That term can be a tad misleading because we’re talking about hunters and trappers here. I don’t know which dictionary they consulted when they named themselves but anything involving the trapping and killing of birds does not qualify as a sport (which they insist it is) and most definitely not as a conservationist activity in my books. This morning, the article on the front page of Passa comes with a photo of six dead birds and a long-winded lament on how ONLY SIX DOVES were killed this season because of the government’s “stupid and discriminatory decision” to limit hunting. Are these people for real?! What makes them think they have the right to go around shooting every flying creature out there? This year, for the first time in my life, I noticed birds flying in the sky. Throughout this winter I saw eagles, doves, robins and many other birds I don’t know the name of. It might sound strange to people living in more civilised countries but it was truly amazing and I hope Munchkin grows up with this being the norm rather than the exception.

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Another thing I noticed this morning is that one of our regular customers is a spitting image of Picasso. How could I have missed the resemblance? I know this might hold no interest to anyone but myself but I just had to translate my awe into words.

The real Picasso. Our Pablo has blue eyes, the only obvious difference I can detect.

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

On a final note, I am counting the hours (another 10 to be precise) till I meet my girlfriends on the larger island for the premier of Sex and The City 2! I only have one problem…the dress code is cocktail and I might not fit into any of my dresses! I’m keeping my fingers crossed and my stomach empty.

8 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Picasso does have quite a ‘Maltese’ look to him though 🙂

  2. Hope you also fixed a hair appointment to do something “ekk” for the occasion. I am really disappointed that I am going to have to miss it due to these damn exams..

    enjoy !!!!

  3. qisek jien ruhi 😛

    mela here it goes: you just need a good brush and hairpins and a good hairspray, http://www.celebrityhairstylesnews.com/updos/lisaguerrero.jpg

  4. I had to laugh . . . I know I shouldn’t because you are horrified but it’s the way you tell a story! It’s funny.

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

