We are family!

Dear friends, today is a very special day. Today my daughter officially has a father and I am no longer a single parent (as I still was officially). A few minutes ago we left the law courts where it was FINALLY declared that my husband is legally my daughter’s father…sorry OUR daughter’s father! A round of applause everyone!

I couldn’t share this with you before but we’ve been going through this process since the beginning of this year and, let me tell you, it’s been a long and rough ride. Basically, I had to adopt my own daughter together with my husband. This is the little girl I carried inside me for nine months, gave birth to and raised for the past 67 months. And yet, I (we) had to undergo endless interrogations, medical tests, house visits by social workers, hours upon hours of questionnaire filling, psychological assessments, visits to lawyers, recounting for the umpteenth time how my daughter’s biological father abandoned us when she was still a tadpole inside me and refused to have anything to do with us since…and for all this we had to pay through our noses. Yes, because that’s how it’s done on this rock. Today was the final chapter…or let’s say the end of the preface before the first chapter as the SAGUNA family finally starts.

We have just phoned the little one to tell her that she can now say her name with her dad’s surname (she still had my maiden surname up till now) and that now her dad is officially her father. She was confused and asked us to explain why she could finally use our surname. I tried to explain and told her because now her dad had adopted her. Her reply was “Ok, and what is adoption?”. How do you explain adoption to a 5 year old?! Anyway, all I can tell you is that we are many hundreds of Euros poorer, emotionally drained (me especially) and disillusioned with our law system but it’s all been worth it because we are finally

A FAMILY!

Special thanks go to Georgine, Simone, Mirs, Sime, Xar, Chris, Leo, Claudia, Stephen and all those who supported us emotionally when it was all becoming a bit too much.

24 Comments

Add yours →

  1. That’s so absolutely adorable, and so touching. I had no idea your husband wasn’t actually her biological father! My sister and niece went through the same process last year – though from the sound of it, it was MUCH easier for them :-/ – but I do understand the emotional rollercoaster you must have gone through and am so happy for you all that it’s now over and can officially be a happy family šŸ™‚ xxx

    • thanks so much clare. it’s been very hard on me for some reason. there were times during these months when we considered stopping the procedures because it was taking its toll on me (hence the many angst-ridden posts on island fairy!) but i’m glad we stuck through it. kisses to your sister’s family even though i don’t know them. i’ll link the post to my daughter’s story to clarify. šŸ™‚

      • I’m sure it’s all worth it in the end and in the large scheme of things, one day it’ll just be the frustrating process it took to get to something rewarding šŸ™‚ xx

  2. Awww congrats! It must have been a tough ride. It’s good to know that you’ve got a strong support system and a loving husband. Now you just need to look forward and enjoy parenthood in two – officially šŸ™‚

  3. Congrats Maureen! I’ve recently started following you, & I really enjoy your posts! I’m very hapy for you, you deserve the best!! šŸ˜€

  4. That is the greatest thing ever Mau!! I am so so so very happy for you and George and the little one of course šŸ™‚ I replied to this entry from my mobile, but it didn’t get posted so don’t know where it went lol. May God bless your litte family unit today and always šŸ™‚ It may have been frustrating at times, but look at where you are today! Congrats dearest xxx

  5. Congratulations! I’m sure the process was painful, but it must feel so good now that it’s over. For what it’s worth, my father was never a part of my life either and I, like Munchkin, never had any interest. Now as an adult, I feel sorry for him, but still have very little interest. I’m very happy for all of you.

    • bronwyn, i forgive you for the woods photos on your blog…your words are touching and mean a lot to me. i’m very very sorry for you but in a perverse way am relieved that you don’t have much interest. it’s one of my biggest worries and i don’t think i’ll ever stop worrying about it. and the photos are part of a photo session we had done before getting married…more on that soon. šŸ™‚

  6. Oh and by the way, those photos are GORGEOUS!

  7. Well done Maur and of course George! So glad you continued the process till the end. Now your are 3 but can start thinking about other sizes of family…. šŸ˜‰

  8. What great news!! Huge congratulations to you and your FAMILY!

  9. What great news! Yet another lovely post that reminds me to be thankful for the really important things in life and focus less on the silly everyday stuff. If only we all had the stamina and passion to fight for what we believe in! Congrats šŸ™‚

  10. Congratulations Mau!!! Soooooooooo happy for you!!! Liz x

  11. That’s truly sweet and adorable! Also, deplorable, Family Law in Malta is somewhat inhuman and achaic. But hey, you swam through shit and emerged smelling of roses, so for that, kudos!

  12. what a wonderful and touching announcement…you will soon be able to leave the negative memories behind and only the nice relief of officially being what you already were will stay with you. hugs to your beautiful family, mau…

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

