The end of babyhood

Good morning and a happy start to your week! I hope your weekend was relaxing.

Today is a special day for us. The little one starts ‘proper’ school today and we couldn’t be more excited! The uniform is laid out, her hair freshly washed, her backpack stuffed, her lunch almost ready (I had to stop and write this to decompress a little!) and she’ll be up in a few minutes. I cannot believe our little baby is a baby no more. Sure, she’s lost four teeth already (and has another two wobbling, by the way), she’s five and she’s suddenly interested in Hannah Montana but this is truly the end of babyhood in my books. Her days at school will no longer be spent playing and reading stories. Her afternoons are already planned in military detail. This mummy is about to cry so I’ll just go and finish her lunch and wake her up with a hundred kisses. It won’t be long before she’ll be wiping those off her cheeks.

4 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Wish you all a wonderful scholastic year! Taking them to school on first days when they were young always made me cry. Probably mums are worse than kids! Lol

  2. Awwww that’s so sweet! And I agree with what Moira said, it’s usually the parents who are the ones crying not the children!

  3. Reminds me of this – *warning: will cause tears*

    *hug*

  4. Awww! You know how I feel about little ones going off to school. I’m sure I’ll loose it when she starts proper school as well. What a big day for everyone. I’m sure Munchkin will have a great day!

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

