Zooming out

These past few weeks (months, even) have been trying. Most of the time I have felt overwhelmed by everything around me. Call it hormones, call it negativity…it still felt like I was walking around with a dark cloud hanging over me. Life is what it is, it throws the good and the bad at you. The only difference between happy and unhappy people is their attitude. I used to be a far more positive person than I am now but the older I get, the more difficult it is for me to look at the bright side.

A good cup of tea can also do wonders to one's outlook on life. Angelina the Mouse knows that.

So I have decided to zoom out. If all of us had to zoom out and look at our lives as a whole instead of focusing on particular episodes or periods, then all of us would be grateful. This is the view when I zoom out on my life:

  • I’ve had a happy childhood and have a great (and large) family;
  • I am blessed with friends who are as good as (if not better than) family;
  • I thought I’d never have children and yet I will soon be a mum to two;
  • I definitely never imagined I’d meet someone whom I loved so much I’d want to spend my life with, but I did;
  • I have a home. It might still be very bare and light years away from the way I would like it to look, but it’s home;
  • I’ve never in my life gone hungry (you can say that again!);
  • I might have a cold and a painful neck but I am not bed-bound or forced to stay in hospital.

There is so much more I am grateful for but what’s listed above is what really counts.

How about you? What do you see when you zoom out?

7 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Yes 🙂 as you said to me I will say to you. Good attitude. You have so much awesome stuff happening to you even right now. Sure we will have bad times but you know what? We deal! I do sincerely believe that every cloud has a silver lining.

    You’re going to be a mummy again with the love of your life. I mean, if that isn’t awesome nothing is 🙂

    *lots of huggles*

    xx

  2. Before reading this post I was gloomy, very gloomy… in fact I was still in bed. But upon reading this post I said to myself; ok I start exams tomorrow – so why the hell I am lying in bad thinking about my problems when when looking back at the past I have managed to prove to many that I can pass and even excel in my exams.
    I am rarely positive in my life always thinking that there is only bad misfortune in my life. Ironically enough I do then believe that time changes things and in some way or another situations might take a twist to my advantage.
    So i decided to take a shower and think things over, think of what changed in my life throughout these last 19 years (jeezzz soon 2decades :/ loool) and I must say that many good things have happened in my life -parents have accepted me and our relationship is in a mysterious way improving.

    I was putting myself low because am afraid of what is going to happen tomorrow, will i ever find true love, will I ever make it to be a good lawyer, will I ever truly accept life as it is and learn to handle problems in a more efficient way! But who knows whats in-store for us in the future. We are in the hands of faith and of what we manage to achieve in the present 🙂

    You instigated me to think a lot this morning, which instigation has led me to set my priorities and concentrate and live today and not think about tomorrow. I should live the present with a positive mood and only look at the future with a glimmer of hope that things will be better than they are today!!

    thanks maur
    xxxxxx

  3. true so true.. and am realising that I wrote more words in both Alison’s and your blog than you yourself wrote.. heheh nahseb kelli bzonn nizvoga..

  4. Agree 100%! I have always had a positive attitude but find it slightly more work to keep up as I get older. I think maybe things weigh more heavily now. Who knows. i still always try to look at the bright sideof things. And it’s true, when you look at your life as a whole, it dwarfs the little things. When I zoom out I see a wonderful husband, an amazing daughter, great friends, a smallish but cozy home in a city I love, in fact there is nowhere on earth I would rather live, and while we don’t have lots of money, it is expensive here and we are able to live nice comfortable lives. Thanks for the reminder!

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

