A weekend of healing

Happy Monday dear reader! How was your weekend? Mine was spent indoors, for the most part, trying to recover from the cold/sinusitis which has struck again. The times I did leave the house should all contribute to help me recover. There was the third visit to Martin, my last morning of work at the shop, dinner with a group of friends to celebrate my best friend’s birthday and a quick meeting with Martin while he delivered some goodies to make my life less miserable.

The third massage session with Martin left me gasping for air but with a less painful neck. The guy’s a genius. I’ve said this before and I’ll say it again…I’ve been to many physiotherapists and massage therapists but none compare to him. Not only is he brilliant at what he does, but the man has a heart. He is genuinely concerned about his clients’ well-being and doesn’t just deliver a massage but also supplements this with oils and creams so they can continue treating themselves at home and with some very good advice. I’ll never praise him enough.

My last morning at the shop has come and gone. I cannot quite believe I won’t be spending half (or most) of my days in there anymore. Much as the candles and some of the customers there caused me grief at times, I still love that place. It’s my sister’s baby and I feel like a protective aunt towards it. I am sure the person who took over from me will do a brilliant job and will be even better than me in some respects. I feel a little lost as I’ve never been in this situation before. I always jumped from one job to the next with only a day of rest in between (if I even got a day off at all). I had always followed my dreams until Maia came along. Then life took over and I was forced to consider options that didn’t necessarily feature on my list of dreams. Now it’s time I followed my dreams again and this was the first step towards that goal.

Saturday night I went out to dinner with my best friend and a group of her friends whom I know well. I sat next to a friend I hadn’t met in many months and we caught up over duck and noodles. This girl is extraordinary. She has just lost her father in the most absurd and tragic of ways and yet, there she was, cheering me up and oozing positivity while I struggled to breath through my blocked nose. If that wasn’t a lesson in life, nothing will teach me.

My final ‘outing’ was meeting Martin in our neighbourhood so he could deliver not one, but three oil blends that he concocted himself. They aren’t even meant for my neck, but to clear my sinuses! The man’s a saint. On a different note, we must have looked like a pusher and his customer in the middle of the street with him handing me over three little bottles and showing me (very graphically) how to inhale them!

My head still hurts and my nose is still blocked but my spirit’s healing. I am surrounded by people who are going through a very rough time and who never once complain. They are teaching this Queen of Whining a valuable lesson and for that I thank them.

5 Comments

Add yours →

  1. “queen of whining” hehehe love it!!
    glad that you had a wonderful weekend!!

    xx

  2. 🙂 very nice of you to say Mau.

    One thing I will say though. Everyone sees his own problems and annoyances and discomforts.I would never dream of belittling someone’s problem just because it is not something like cancer. Everyone is battling their own demons and has their own stuff going on.

    On the other hand if you are annoying yourself with whining then by all means try and stop but only to make yourself feel better, if you can understand what I mean.

    In the meantime lots of hugs and kisses and I hope that everything else is well and thanks so much for your thoughts and well wishes. You have no idea how much it helps to know that people care 🙂

    XXXXXXX

  3. We all pass through difficult moments, which depress us. Looking back, we tend to minimize past experiences, thinking that this time, it is definitely worse! … Actually I believe that it is because time heals and we forget the dark details. We feel that what is happening to us now is the worse burden. Don’t worry about whining, … I used to whine forever (I hope I’m doing better now!) … it is part of moving on, just thank God you are surrounded with the right, loving people, and try to focus more on your blessings. Remember that our life is enriched with these so called ‘negative’ experiences, they are the ones that make us grow, reach out and love more, … and it is exactly what you are trying to do at the moment! Taking care of your family, and being there for them! May God bless you! Take care, xx

  4. I think time sprent with good friends is the best medicine. Hope the oils do the trick too. 🙂

  5. Thanks to all of you for your comments. I’m feeling better already. As I’ve been told time and again, it’s a journey. I can’t wait to get my health back in full and work on keeping healthy. Your comments help a lot.

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

