Libya, mice and ze bump

The beginning to the week has been eventful here on the island. To start with, my husband’s back home (round of applause, everyone!)! We’re all back in our bare flat and I love it. I am very aware of how lucky I am to have parents who are so helpful and who live close, but nature takes over at a certain age and being independent becomes very important.

Another significant event (which really should have been mentioned first) was the landing of two helicopters and two fighter jets coming from Libya, here on the island. Living on these islands can be a little awkward and confusing. We are only an hour’s flight away from Africa and yet we consider ourselves to be European. We are members of the European Union and yet our language has a semitic base and we were governed by the Arabs for 200 years. Being bang in the middle of the Mediterranean has its advantages but it also means a lot of trouble sometimes. Our country has been plagued with the influx of illegal immigrants (usually Africans fleeing their country) for the past ten years or so. I feel for these people because most of them are running to save their lives, but it is also worrying for us, being such a tiny island which also happens to be one of the most densely populated in the world. And now it’s the Libyans, or rather, Gaddafi. Whoever is my age or older and grew up on these islands knows what I’m talking about when I say the guy gives me the creeps. Just the mention of his name takes me back thirty years and the memories I have of that time are not pleasant at all. I just hope the Libyans continue to be brave and show that nutcase that it’s the people who really count and that justice will prevail.

And on a happier note, here are some pictures from the past few days:

Someone is desperate to have a pet (apart from goldfish Lotta, Marv and Lola)...
...so daddy got her six mice over from England.
They're the friendliest mice I've ever seen.
And they seem to like hairy men the most.

The last photo has nothing to do with mice…

Ze Bump at 25 weeks (I swear it's ONLY 25 weeks!).
14 Comments

Add yours →

  1. You and Ze Bump look amazing!

  2. Love the bump!

    Some of the mice look so real.

  3. Love the mice!! 🙂 And you’re looking lovely. I DO like your cardi 🙂

  4. Oh god, those mice seem too real for comfort!! You on the other hand are looking great 🙂 I need to get a pic of my bump here!!

  5. agreed 100% on Libya issue!
    you look great as always and more!
    take care

  6. Fighter jets? Pretty scary on such a small island. And I agree with everyone else, you look fantastic! Oh, and I love that Maia’s goldfish are named after Charlie and Lola characters, especially Marv. 🙂

  7. love the mice 🙂 and you’re looking SO well!! ❤

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

