Call for help

If you ever thought that a stay-at-home mum’s life is easy, think again. Believe it or not, I’m still adjusting to the new routine (a whole six weeks later). There are many things I want to write about, especially because I don’t want to forget them and this special time in my life, but I cannot seem to find the time.

To start with, the baby has now turned a whole 180 degrees and is happily dancing on my bladder as I write. I really hope it will turn head down again soon…I’m not keen at all on the idea of it being breech. Then there’s the matter of my body feeling like it will fall apart any day. I am only 26 weeks along and the pain in my pelvis and lower back is unbearable by late afternoon. I am trying to strengthen the muscles with yoga because I cannot walk for more than 200 metres without getting stitches in my bump and pelvic muscles. I hope that a miracle happens in the remaining 14 weeks and I manage to keep going and carry this baby till its due date.

 

This is one of the first photos my husband ever took of her, a few weeks after we met (that's almost three years ago).

 

 

In other news, Maia is growing. I’ve written about how fast she’s changing many times before but I’ll have to repeat myself. She turns six (SIX!!!) in five days and I am in denial. If you remember my state of mind a year ago, you’ll know that I usually make a big fuss out of birthdays, especially hers. This time, however, I’ve been avoiding the matter like the plague. This year’s party will be held in an indoor play area (at Maia’s insistence and my disappointment) and the theme is Charlie and Lola. Obviously. So we ordered the party items from the UK (no chance of finding anything related to C & L here), which dear Josepha brought over (yet again). The cake will be made by my very talented sister and should feature Lola and Lotta because, in our hierarchy, Lotta is way more important than Charlie. That’s all I’ve done, or delegated, in preparation for the big celebrations. It’s painful to realise that my little baby is slowly (read rapidly) becoming a big girl and will not need me so much very soon.

Having said that, last night we spent a good hour discussing something which is troubling her (and me even more). For some reason, she has decided that she’s not pretty. She says she doesn’t like her face. I spent a very long time trying to find out whether anyone had bullied her or told her she was ugly. She assured me time and again that nobody had ever told her anything of the sort. Then I proceeded to tell her all the things I love about her – her big eyes, her tiny nose, her little bum, her long legs, her smooth hair and, mostly, her lips. She was chuffed but still not convinced. So then I asked her to list five things she thought made her special. This seemed to do the trick, together with a lot of cuddles from her father and myself. I am still very disturbed by the fact that a five year old (let me call her that for the last five days!) should even think about her looks, let alone find fault with them. I was always very aware of her precocious little mind but this just swept me off my feet.

This is why I am asking for your help. I would be very grateful if you could write the things you think make her special. I will read them to her so she will know that it’s not only her biased parents who think she’s a remarkable little girl. Some of you have met her in person, others only through this blog, but any little positive thing you can tell will help. I am aware that a lot of you read my ranting on a daily basis but don’t usually comment…well, today is the day to make yourselves heard!

 

12 Comments

Add yours →

  1. What a great idea. I get the impression she is one of the brightest, most imaginative girls around. She has such a lovely smile and seems so thoughtful and gentle. And she will be a brilliant big sister ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. When I met her I was impressed her way of talking, her exciting way of expressing things, and especially by the way she smiles with her eyes ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Hi I just stumbled across your blog. Your little girl is beautiful She has the most expressive, almond-shaped eyes that seem to talk to you just by looking at them.

  4. I love her eyes and her smile… and she’s so clever which makes her a beautiful person inside and out x

  5. She is creative, talented, a ball of energy, imaginative, bright ;-). GORGEOUS eyes, I love her little nose and her face is just beautiful :-). She is a beauty. She really is. Always smiling (at least I get that impression every time you post pics here and from your words). MAIA YOU ARE WONDERFUL !!!!

    XXXX

  6. Where to start? She’s just beautiful – big, soulful eyes, gorgeous lips, the cutest cheeks. She looks like a little angel. She loves Charlie and Lola so clearly she has excellent taste. ๐Ÿ˜‰ She is creative and cleaver and makes up wonderful games. And I can just tell from your posts that she is loads of fun to be around. I’d have a tea party with her any day!

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

