Let them eat cake!

As most of you know by now, I’m a big fan of birthday parties. Throughout my childhood, we always celebrated the birthday of each member of the family with cake and presents at the very least. Cakes, especially, have always played an important part in my memories of past birthdays. My love of cakes has reached a whole new level since Maia was born. I love baking and am not too bad at it, but I’m rubbish at decorating. And this is where my sister comes in. It all started with Maia’s first birthday cake. I decided to use Maia the Bee as a theme for that particular party and my sister volunteered to draw, freehand, the bee on her cake. This is what it looked like:

Apologies for the poor quality of the photo but it’s the only one available!

Since then, it has become a tradition for her to decorate Maia’s cakes. Then, almost four years ago, her own daughter was born and she started decorating two cakes a year. Every year, Maia’s cakes and those of her cousin became more ambitious. My sister, who has always been very artistic, started experimenting with sugar paste and with 3D figurines made out of sugar. Then, somehow, a simple hobby took on a life of its own and last year she started accepting orders. Her little venture has really taken off and she’s being kept very busy every week producing little masterpieces without having ever taken one lesson in cake decorating. She’s meticulous and is such a perfectionist that she sees flaws in her (and other persons’) cakes that I cannot even spot with a magnifying glass.

One of her recent creations has been chosen to take part in a competition organised by Italian cake decorator Renato Ardovino of Le Torte di Renato. The only way for her to win this competition is to accumulate enough Likes on Facebook to outdo her competitors. The winner will have the opportunity to attend a course organised by the Italian maestro himself and I know it would mean the world to my sister if she were given the chance to be taught by him. So this is where I ask you to show her some love and support. I believe in her talent and tenacity (this lady is also a devoted mum to the princess of our family) and wish for all her dreams, this one in particular, to come true.

To vote, simply Like the page of Le Torte di Renato here http://www.facebook.com/pages/Le-Torte-di-Renato/189969311061714 and then Like her cake, which is this one:

The competing cake…beautiful and yummy!

And if you want to see the evolution of her cakes, this is her Facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Cakes-by-Xar/158952504117196

6 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Thanks sis…i love u to bits…xxx

  2. I’ve ‘liked’ the page and ‘liked’ her cake as well! She is very talented!! Hope she wins 🙂

  3. Oh and I forgot to mention that I also tweeted about it and did a little repost on my blog too 🙂

  4. thank u so much I really appreciate it…thanks

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

