Ten things you may not know about me

I was recently tagged by the lovely Clare of Accidentally, Kle in a post with the same title as this one. I laughed out loud at some of the points in her list but had no clue as to what I could write in my list. The problem is that I already share so much on this blog that I didn’t think there was anything else left to say. I rummaged a little in my memory and was very surprised at some of the things I had forgotten about. Here is my list:

1. I wrote a novel when I was 14. It took me many months of clicking away at a typewriter (there were no computers around at the time) and it has since gone missing. I’m hoping I hadn’t written my name on the front page.

2. The only sport I ever practiced and stuck to was fencing. I had to quit when I fell pregnant with Maia and moved to the smaller island as there aren’t any fencing clubs here. I still wear my mask occasionally (in secret) and hope to fence again in the future.

3. As a child, my idea of fun was reading the encyclopedia. It’s a little embarrassing but it’s the truth. I remember being around 8 years old and opening a volume at random. Then I would read all the related articles to whatever would have randomly come up. I probably should have spent a little more time playing while I still could.

4. Another favourite pastime was writing down the family trees of Greek and Roman deities. What can I say? I was and still am fascinated by mythology. So much so that I read for a degree in Classics (Classical Greek and Latin) and still flick through some of my books when I remember some particular myth.

5. Which brings me to my favourite book of all time – Brewer’s Dictionary Phrase and Fable. I could (and when I had more time I used to) spend hours reading through it.

6. I don’t like seafood. It always surprises foreign friends that an islander would hate anything coming from the sea. I can only eat salmon and that only when I really feel like it. My husband is the same. We call it love.

7. Before becoming a mother I used to drink alcohol when I went out (yes, even nerds have the occasional drink). I could drink all night and never get drunk. The one time I did get drunk I tumbled down a flight of stairs in a club, laughing all the way down. My leg hurt for years after that spectacular night.

8. I’m the worst cyclist ever. The last time I rode a bike was about ten years ago. I was insane enough to cycle for hours with some semi-professional cyclist friends of mine and by late afternoon I was so exhausted that I lost control of my bike while speeding downhill during rush hour. I literally flew off the bike and was very lucky to only get a hairline fracture in one elbow.

9. I almost messed up our honeymoon. I got the dates wrong and only realised we were meant to leave that day just four hours before our plane left. We had to rush home, rush to my parents’ to pack my luggage, drive to the ferry, cross to the other island and catch a taxi to the airport…all in two hours! We made it in the nick of time but it has become one of my husband’s favourite anecdotes illustrating my absent-mindedness.

10. At the age of fourteen (quite an eventful year it was!) I decided I wanted to become a nun. It wasn’t a joke and it wasn’t something I had decided on a whim. I grew up in a very religious family and school environment and I guess I was slightly brainwashed by some well-meaning people in my early life. Needless to say, it was not meant to be. Hallelujah to that!

My beloved Phrase and Fable. This is the edition I own but I would love to own an old edition one day.

I was one of five bloggers tagged by Clare in her post and was left with instructions to tag another five, so here goes:

Alisondee’s Blog

Tollipop

Gourmet Worrier

Flights of Fancy

Davinia Hamilton

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. LOL fantastic! I wanted to be a nun too, when I was 7 (for the same reasons as you). And you’ve reminded me I used to do the encyclopedia thing too. I had a particular love for the medical encyclopedia for some reason!!

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

