Need to unplug

Image from Pinterest via Rachel Hope

Another week has almost passed and I’m gasping for air. These days I’ve been trying to catch up with the endless laundry and ironing, sorting out our winter wardrobes, ferrying Maia to and from school, dance lessons, catechism and all that jazz, trying to get Robin to have the occasional nap (the girl hates naps just like her sister!) and dreaming about having some time for myself. I am also thinking a lot about Paris and the annual trip we’ll be skipping this year. The husband seems to have noticed how strung up I’ve become and has booked us a few days’ holiday in the UK for next month. We’ll be visiting one of my oldest and dearest friends and I can’t wait! Unfortunately we’ll have to leave Maia behind, which I’m not looking forward to, but I must learn to let go of her a little like every other mother I know seems to be able to do. I know it will do me good to get away a little and I’m hoping that I’ll be a more rested and patient mum to her when I come back. Robin will come with us and I’m dreading breaking the news to her sister as I don’t want her to feel left out. Will see how that pans out.

Another few things that have happened during the past week are Robin’s first haircut (at four months she needed a trim!), finally getting myself to a yoga class which I will be attending every week, managing to express milk once a week (I’m still resisting it but couldn’t avoid the weekly bottle otherwise I’d have had to give up the yoga classes) and going back to my therapist for a weekly massage (ok, this came about out of necessity and a very painful neck but it’s helping me unwind). I am also thrilled about another blog I’m writing for an online magazine finally going online but I’ll write more about that some other day.

Hope you’re all having a great week!

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I know what you mean. With one child alone and no family help, it seems I’m always doing something, I have no ‘me’ time, and before I know it, it’s night-time and another day is over! The UK trip will do you wonders dear – no need to tell you, if you’re in our vicinity you are all more than welcome to come visit 🙂

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

