One’s eating, one’s hoping and one’s aching

The past few days have seen a lot of firsts coming from Robin. She has finally started eating (only rice cereal so far but we plan to start some vegetables tomorrow) and she’s also having the occasional drink of water from a beaker. I tried (and managed to) hang on to her first phase of babyhood for as long as I could, giving her only breastmilk and only expressed a few times but it was time I let go a little. Our little one was so ready to eat that it has surprised me. Just a few days after her first few tentative spoonfuls of baby cereal, she is now downing half a bowl (opening wide her little mouth for each spoonful) and crying for more. Yesterday I offered her a beaker with water, thinking she would just bite on it or play with it. She snatched it from my hand and put it straight to her mouth. I helped her tilt it and when she felt the water coming out she went crazy. The girl couldn’t have enough! I had to prise it out of her hands after a while.

As for Maia, she has written her letter to Father Christmas, asking for a hula hoop, a hairdressing training head with real hair and some game console like the one a friend of hers is getting for Christmas. The first two gifts I have no problem with. It’s the third one I’m not so thrilled about. So far we have managed to stick to the 10 minute rule, but I wonder how easy it would be to limit the time playing with such a game if she had one of her own.

I’m sure there are other things that have happened since last week and that are worth remembering, but I’m going to have to cut this post short and ask you to send me some good vibes. I’m not feeling very well and am getting by on paracetamol. I’m getting pretty bad body aches and chills without any fever or any other symptoms and it’s so debilitating that I’m trying to get as much stuff done in the intervals between the episodes as I can.

I hope your week is looking brighter than mine and, if you live on the islands, I hope this morning’sĀ hailstorms didn’t cause you any injury or damage!

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. I hope you are feeling better, Mau!!

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

