Eleven questions


I was recently tagged by my friend Josepha in her post with the same name. I don’t know about you, but I love memes. It might be a voyeuristic thing but I enjoy getting to know more about the persons behind the blogs I follow.

So, as instructed, I’ve answered the 11 questions Josepha asked me and I’m asking another 11 to my chosen 11 bloggers, who will then have to ask another 11 questions to 11 persons they choose. (I’m out of breath after that sentence).

Here goes:

  • Are you a ‘glass-half-full’ or ‘glass-half-empty’ type of person?

I used to be a glass half-full type of person but it hasn’t been easy to remain so positive the older I got. There were some experiences that deeply marked me in my late twenties but now I’m in a happier and more confident place so I feel my old self returning to the surface.

  • What is the one food you wouldn’t mind eating every day?

Anything carbohydrate-laden, especially bread. In fact, not one day goes by without the consumption of some bread.

  • If you could rule the world for a day, what would be the one thing you’d immediately do?

Abolish the use of pesticides. I’ve become more aware of what we eat since becoming a parent and I hate to think of all the poisons I am forced to feed my children, simply because it is so difficult to come by organic produce and products on these islands.

  • Death penalty – pro or anti-?

Definitely against. This is an argument I very often have with my dad. He’s in favour of it, especially when it comes to crimes against children. I’m not saying I wouldn’t want to kill anyone who harmed my kids or my family, but as a principle, I’m against the death penalty. I believe life is not ours to take, not even in the name of justice.

  • How many hours a day do you spend online?

Some days it’s half an hour, others it’s four hours. It depends on how much work I have to deal with. I take care of my husband’s correspondence relating to his photography, I write for the Sunday Circle, update this blog and I sometimes have proofreading jobs to do, so on those days it’s a few hours. Otherwise, I’ll catch up on blog reading, Facebook (which is always on in this house) and Twitter. Oh, and Pinterest (which can up the total hours spent online considerably)!

  • What is your favourite television show, and why?

I don’t have much time for television, preferring to spend any spare time I have reading. But if I had to choose, I love anything to do with design (be it fashion, interiors or architecture) or anything that will take my mind off reality. I will often catch up on Hollywood gossip on E! (not proud of this, but it’s my form of escapism) and a new programme I like is The Amandas, a programme about professional organisers. I’m always trying to find inspiration to get myself and our flat organised.

  • Looking back at old photos of yourself, what is your most cringe-worthy outfit?

Ugh, it’s not just one but all the photos taken during my teens! We used to wear badly fitting stone-washed or bleached jeans and these tent-like tops. Sometimes shoulder pads made an appearance too! And our hair was backcombed to within an inch of its life. Hideous and embarrassing.

  • Which five people, dead or alive, fictional or real, would you choose to have dinner with, and why them?

Salvador Dali‘ because I love his art and his sense of humour. He was weird by anyone’s standards but that’s what makes him so interesting to me. Neil Gaiman because I’m a big fan of his books and also of him. He’s a giant in the literary world and yet he tweets about his new wife and sends sweet loving messages to his daughters on Twitter. Bear Grylls because he’s a more glamourised version of my husband. Up for an adventure anytime and handsome too. He’d never run out of anecdotes about his adventures. Kirsten from the blog Tollipop. She’s mum to three beautiful and talented girls and she writes like few people can. I can’t imagine how entertaining chatting with her in real life would be. My maternal grandmother. She died in her late 30s after having 12 kids (the youngest of which was a toddler when she passed away). Of course, I never knew her but I am fascinated by her. She was a strong woman but must have suffered a lot and her life was cut too short.

I'd make Bear promise not to consume any bugs or body fluids during our meal.
  • What is your worst pet peeve?

Bad grammar and spelling, especially on Facebook. I cringe every time I read the statuses of some of my younger friends who seem never to have learned how to spell neither in English nor in Maltese.

  • What is the one book you wouldn’t mind reading over and over again?

Stardust by Neil Gaiman.

  • Who/what inspires you?

All the mums I know who manage to raise their kids and not forget about their own needs. I have a long way to go before I can safely say I’ve found a balance that way, but I’m working towards it.

********************************************************************************

And my eleven questions are:

  • What was your dream job growing up?
  • What’s your worst habit?
  • If you had to be stranded on a desert island, what five items would you want to have with you?
  • Which country would you move to when you retire from work?
  • Which sports have you practised?
  • What does your ideal romantic date look like?
  • Which recipe do you fall back on when there’s ‘nothing’ in your fridge?
  • What’s your guilty pleasure?
  • Are you religious/spiritual?
  • Where do you see yourself in ten years?
  • What’s the bravest thing you ever did?

to my chosen eleven:

  1. Cup of Crazy Anyone? (back atcha!)
  2. Accidentally, Kle
  3. All about G
  4. Tollipop
  5. salt + pine
  6. Alisondee
  7. Davinia Hamilton
  8. Flights of fancy
  9. Venting and more venting
  10. My life with three princesses
  11. Little shop of dreams
4 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I was tagged by Josepha also but have not had time to sit down and answer them. I do want to though 🙂 Now I have 22 questions to answer hehe.

    Bear Gryllz…interesting choice. He had been dropped by discovery btw. BOOO

    Re: carbohydrate laden food… Yup.. I agree LOL

  2. Yay! My first tag! These are good questions but it may take me a little while to answer them. But I will! Thanks! I could read Stardust 1000 times! Love Neil Gaiman! 🙂 And I would love you to be in charge of the world for a day. Please rid the world of icky pesticides!

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

