A funny feeling and a funny baby

A funny feeling I’ve had in my throat turned out to be a full-blown pharyngitis. So I’m forced not to talk (to the relief of many, I’m sure), am having antibiotics and anti-inflammatory medicine. I’ve never been so grateful for drugs. Had this darned (extremely) sore throat struck a couple of weeks ago, I’d have been forced to stick it out with the only help of paracetamol, which has proved useless in this case. Now that I’m not breastfeeding any longer (gosh, that was painful to write!), I can drug myself silly if I like.

Speaking of medicines, my mind is in Manchester right now. I’ve been feeling very absent-minded today, all out of sorts. Nothing new, you say. True, but today I am particularly bad. I just realised, after seeing a photo on Facebook posted by my sister, that the reason is Miki. In less than 24 hours, her operation will start. It’s a very delicate procedure, not without potentially catastrophic side-effects. While these are rare, and Miki has already undergone this surgery before, I cannot help but worry. This is why I ask you, again, to spare a few moments to pray for her or send her positive thoughts. I’m sure she’ll be fine, but still…

This photo was taken a couple of years ago, but it’s still one of my favourites.

Meanwhile, Robin is keeping me on my toes. She’s also keeping me smiling. I dare you not to smile at this chubby face:

7 Comments

Add yours →

  1. She looks so much like George in that picture!! And my thoughts and prayers are with the little girl x

  2. We will pray that all goes well!
    Today we start the novena to Mary Help of Christians, … remember all the devotion we were thought for such a long time! Even if I want to forget, I know I never will!
    May Our Lady be with her!

  3. Maureen Azzopardi May 15, 2012 — 4:51 pm

    Get well soon. My prayers will be dedicated to Miki today.

  4. Heavenly Father, giver of life and health: Comfort and
    relieve thy sick servants, and give thy power of healing to
    those who minister to their needs, that Miki,
    for whom our prayers are offered may be strengthened in
    their weakness and have confidence in thy loving care;
    through Jesus Christ our Lord, who liveth and reigneth with
    you and the Holy Spirit, one God, now and for ever. Amen.

    covering you all in prayer ~

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

