Of real life trolls

There are days which are harder than others. That’s a fact. Today was one of those days and on days like today, it’s these little moments that keep me going:

One of the things that upset me today was being ‘told off’ by Maia’s teacher. Those of you who follow me on Facebook know what I’m talking about. I don’t wish to go into the matter here too, but what happened made me think really hard about the internet and social media in particular.

I’m a self-confessed addict to Twitter, Pinterest, Instagram and, obviously, blogging. I also use Facebook on a daily basis, mostly because it’s the only way I can keep up with most of my friends and family who live on the larger island or abroad. If you are a regular reader, you’ll know that I am very open and honest about my personal life and experiences. I don’t sugar-coat my past or whatever feelings I would be going through. If there are things I don’t want to share with anyone but my husband and closest friends, then that’s what I do. I don’t write about every single thing I think of, struggle with or go through. I do, however, share more than most people would feel comfortable with and I do so knowing that I might be judged or ridiculed and I’m fine with that.

What I am not fine with is people who call themselves my friends using information I would have shared online to hurt me or others. That I cannot accept. So, from now on, I’ll be more careful whom to befriend and whom to mention in my writing, but hell will have to freeze over before I stop writing whatever I want, whenever I want to.

I found this finger puppet under the sofa the other day. I dedicate this photo to all the backstabbers out there. May karma bite your arse back.

 

All photos are from my Instagram feed (islandfairy). Please do not use them without my permission.

8 Comments

Add yours →

  1. You are so right! I admire you!

  2. I had written about this a couple of months ago! I know what you mean. Some people have nothing better to do in life than maliciously read and interpret other people’s thoughts. Don let them get you down. I went through my followers and now monitor certain ‘friends’ and their comments.

    • I know Jo! And I was the one telling you to ignore them. What upset me about this whole thing, though, is knowing that there’s Maia in the middle (unbeknownst to her) and I feel bad about that. I also feel sorry for the teacher because I was totally misinterpreted. I learned my lesson, anyway.

  3. Issa Jahasra you really did not say anything bad or offensive. It Was quite amusing anzi. COuld be also the person who mentioned it did not do it maliciously but coz they found it funny and it kinda backfired. Just a thought.

  4. I’m sorry that you have to deal with this kind of crap. I’m going through similar situation here right now- finding out who our ‘real’ friends are in Malta VERY quickly. Backstabbers is right. Its very unfortunate and its very upsetting also. Hang in there and I do hope that you keep on writing whatever it is you feel like. Afterall this is YOUR blog and this is YOUR life.

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

