This weekend

This weekend wasn’t great. It’s as simple as that. A baby who doesn’t stop for one second, a grumpy seven year old and a stiff neck do not a happy mum make. There were some good moments but, mostly, I’m glad it’s over because weekends like this one are exhausting. Here are the few shots I remembered to take for posterity’s sake:

When I tell you that we have a baby who NEVER STOPS, I mean it. I’m still trying to figure out who this little girl is. Here she is attacking her sister.
I won’t bore you with the details of my weekend trying to keep an eye on two girls who seem to have boundless energy, but this is Maia’s depiction of a particular episode on Saturday which saw Maia trying to stop Robin from eating muesli off the floor while I shouted “NO!” and tried to sweep it out of the way before she reached it.
This little girl gave me a hard time these past few days. I hate to admit it, but we are so similar in character that we often clash. I do love her to bits, though.
One of the bones of contention was this pair of shoes. We both loved them but couldn’t find the right size for her growing feet. Thankfully, we settled the matter after HOURS of arguing and lots of tears.
We had long faces all Friday and Saturday.
Then came the Eurovision Song Contest and our woes faded into insignificance. I mean, really, if that show isn’t the best medicine for the grumps, then I don’t know what is.
Yesterday was a different story. We went to the larger island for a very special friend’s First Holy Communion. It was a very VERY tiring day, but a good one.
This little girl was a very happy one, which made the rest of us very happy too.
And things only got better when a girl came up to her on the ferry back home and offered to paint her face. She couldn’t believe her luck!

How about you? How was your weekend?

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

