51 weeks

This week has been a busy one and yet, I got NOTHING crossed off my checklist. Do you ever have weeks like that? I just hope I pull myself together sooner rather than later. I have a feeling I’m going to have to dust off my yoga mat and do some poses. My hormones are all over the place and I’m a nightmare right now. I’ve had more meltdowns these past two days than Robin has had this past year.

This is what Robin and I looked like a year ago.

Oh yes, I almost forgot…this Sunday we’re celebrating our Robin bird’s first birthday. She turns one in exactly ONE WEEK. IĀ might be in denial about the whole thing. Don’t get me wrong, I am loving the age she’s at. She’s such a joy to be around, always smiling and giggling, imitating those around her, offering cuddles and wanting to be just like Maia. She’s a great eater and sleeper and, although she’s already showing signs of being just as hard-headed as her sister, she adapts easily to whichever changes in routine we throw at her.

It’s just that I honestly cannot fathom where this year has gone and it is precisely this feeling of bewilderment I am desperate to avoid. I feel like we sped through these past twelve months, always rushing to be in time for school, to have lunch and dinner ready at a certain time, picking Maia up and dropping her off to the various dance and catechism lessons, parties and play dates. I wish we could rewind and go through the past 51 weeks in slow motion. But then, I guess, that’s why we have the hundreds of thousands of photos and videos saved away.

I think it’s time to dig them out and have a weepfest.

5 Comments

Add yours →

  1. :o) When I’m losing it, not coping and think I’ll be blowing a fuse unless I slow down; reading that someone else is feeling the same just makes things a teeny bit better. Thanks!

  2. I know exactly what you mean. My boy turns one on June 7. I’m a bit of a mess about it. I honestly can’t remember him being a newborn. It all went much too quickly.

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

