Embrace the camera 28th June 2012

I don’t look my best in this photo but I don’t really care. What I do care about is the happiness on this little one’s face. We’re having a bit of a hard time lately, me and her. We clash a lot. She’s got my same character, something I wouldn’t have liked her to inherit. She’s stubborn and strong-willed and some days can end up becoming an endless battle of wits between the two of us.

Things are that much harder now she’s home all day. She expects me to give her undivided attention, like I used to when she was smaller and she was my only child. That was also a time  when we lived with my parents and I had little to do but spend every waking moment soaking in every second spent with her. Things are different now. I allow Robin to make as big a mess as she needs to when she’s eating, which means that there’s (a lot of) cleaning to be done all the time. There’s mountains of laundry to wash, hang, fold, put away and iron. Every. Single. Day. If I decide to take it easy one day, you can rest assured that the rest of the week will be spent playing catch-up.

So moments like this, when both of us are relaxed and giggling on the sofa while taking silly photos, are precious. And much less frequent than we’d both want them to be.

3 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I LOVE this post, how your sharing your heart and also your beautiful girls gorgeous smile!

    http://www.mylittlemustache.com

  2. I love the photo and it’s such a great, post! Something we all struggle with from time to time, isn’t it? In some form or other it’s easy to lose the connection, the fun part over daily battles.. thanks for the reminder!

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

