A very special wedding

Two nights ago we spent the first night without children since Robin was born. It felt really strange going to bed with an empty cot in the room and another empty bed next door, but it wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be.

Both girls slept away from home because we had a wedding to go to. I’ve been to many weddings and I almost always shed a tear, especially when the vows are being exchanged, but this wedding was special. It was our wedding photographer tying the knot and whoever knows her and her new husband knows what a special couple they are. The wedding was a small and intimate affair. They are both German so it wasn’t the typical wedding we get on the islands.

The ceremony took place on a hill overlooking the vineyards and countryside which the bride fell in love with when she shot our wedding and was officiated by the groom’s dad who happens to be a minister. The groom’s brother and stepmother also sang during the ceremony, the best man and the bride’s father couldn’t stop crying during their speeches, every guest was introduced to the whole party…there wasn’t a dry eye in sight. I cried for most of the evening. I felt overwhelmed by the amount of love pouring out of the couple and their families and I think it’s safe to say that this was my favourite wedding to date (apart from ours!). It touched my heart and reminded me how love has a way of showing up when the time is right, not a moment before and definitely never too late.

This is a photo Jess took at our wedding. This was the same view we overlooked during her own wedding ceremony and it was breathtaking and very emotional for us.

In other news, lethargy has caught up with me. Most of it is due to the fact that I’m a woman, if you know what I mean. The little energy I have left evaporates after 10am, when temperatures start soaring. The husband has also been working really long hours and when he’s not at sea, he’s shooting weddings. Some days I wish he had a regular 9 to 5 job, with weekends and holidays off. Then again, we get to enjoy him that much more when we do have him with us. The girls get all excited when he walks in the door and today he was treated like a king, which he loved!

The table as set by Maia earlier today. Papa’ was chuffed to bits!

According to Maia, tomorrow I’ll be queen for the day. I can’t wait to see who will get the laundry, cooking and housework done!

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

