This weekend

This weekend wasn’t one I’d like to remember. The girls spent two days at my parents so I could recover from this chest infection from hell. The worst is over but the coughing is driving me nuts. Anyway, this is how I spent most of the weekend. The girls were having a ball with their grandparents but both were happy to be back home last night.

Sleepless nights spent pacing the flat and waking up the neighbours with my coughing.
These cheered me up for a few minutes.
As did these (I’m getting major cravings for cold milk, ice and pineapple…deja vu anyone?)

What cheered me up the most, however, was this:

Image from Babble.com

I remembered having pinned the recipe on Pinterest a few months ago after my friend Clare asked about tried and tested mug cake recipes. I happened to have all the ingredients needed and I had a craving for cake too, so I made one for myself Saturday night when the husband was at work and I couldn’t stop looking at photos of the girls while choking back the tears. It took me a total of two minutes to prepare and there was no mess to clean up afterwards. What’s not to love?

You will need:

4 tablespoons self rising flour
4 tablespoons white granulated sugar
1 egg
3 tablespoons cocoa powder
3 tablespoons Nutella
3 tablespoons milk
3 tablespoons olive or vegetable oil

Method

Combine all ingredients in a large coffee mug. Whisk well with a fork until smooth. Microwave on high for 1 1/2 – 3 minutes. (Time depends on microwave wattage. Mine took 3 minutes.) Top with whipped cream and a little chocolate sauce if desired. I didn’t have either but it was good just the same.

Next time I’ll make it (because there’ll definitely be a next time), I think I’ll reduce a little of the sugar because it was a bit too sweet for my liking. Having said that, I ate it all (I guess nobody’s surprised about that).

The best part of the weekend was yesterday afternoon, which was spent vegging out on my parents’ sofa watching the Olympics (Fencing! Gymnastics! Synchronised swimming! I was in heaven!) with my loves. I did the Olympics watching, they played games.

How was your weekend? Did you catch up on the Olympics? Which is your favourite sport to watch? (I know a lot of my girlfriends have grown really fond of the men’s swimming competitions…I wonder why).

11 Comments

Add yours →

  1. A-ha! Finally, a “tried and tested” recipe 😉 Thank you – and omg that looks delicious!!!

    Hope you’re much better xxxxx

  2. Abby and I just got over a really nasty chest infection too! I hope you are better now. I have a lot of your posts to catch up on, but are you trying to tell us something with that reference to ice and milk???? Are congratulations in order? Or was that just the infection causing the cravings?

  3. I’m now on day 4 of the same chest/sinus cold. My throat no longer hurts and the pain in my chest when I cough is almost gone- however today I seem to be just a big walking body of mucus- yuck. I hope we both get over this soon!

  4. I couldn’t resist yesterday and tried that chocolate mug mix. After adding some ingredients I noticed that I didn’t have Nutella at home so I added some extra cocoa and didn’t reduce the sugar. The result was good but next time I have to try it with Nutella. I also think that the raw mix is nearly tastier than the cooked version of it (but that’s always the case with cake batter)!

  5. Made the cake! (with 3 tbsps sugar as u suggested). Perfect! It’s HUGE tho lol might make a half dose next time! Mmmm…. X

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

