The flying muscleman

One of Maia’s favourite tv shows is Lazytown. I like it too, both because it promotes a healthy lifestyle with children and also because I love seeing Sportacus‘s moves. If you’re not familiar with Sportacus, he’s a muscular gymnast dressed in a tight bodysuit. He’s also the main character. And before you go thinking I spend my mornings drooling over a character from my daughter’s favourite show, I’d like to point out that it’s his moves that have me standing in the middle of the living room, mouth agape in amazement.

Tight bodysuit apart, another thing that always intrigued me was his accent. I was almost convinced he was Eastern European but I was wrong. It turns out Sportacus, or rather Magnus Scheving, is Icelandic. Not only that, but he’s the creator of the whole Lazytown franchise and was also Icelandic, Scandinavian and European champion in aerobic gymastics. This last fact didn’t surprise me in the least. I mean, have you seen the way Sportacus gets out of bed in the morning?!

My quick search on the interwebs also revealed some other interesting facts about the flying muscleman. He’s only 46 years old but already a grandfather of two! Also, the way he got into gymnastics is nothing short of spectacular, as are his moves (can you tell I really like his moves?). Apparently it all started with a bet with his friend when already in his 20s. Each of them had to master a sport within three years. Scheving chose snooker for his friend and his friend chose gymnastics for Scheving.

I’ll let you guess who won that bet…

20120918-111545.jpg

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

