First day of school, 2012 edition

When we sent Maia off to school two days ago I was a nervous wreck, even though I didn’t know it myself. I realised how tense I was when she walked out of school that afternoon. She was beaming and I immediately felt relief wash over me. She went on to declare that first school day “perfect”. She loves her new teacher, her new classroom, her (mostly) new classmates and she’s still thrilled with her new backpack and lunch bag (these little things help too). She’s not too keen on the fact that there’s more homework to be dealt with than last year but I haven’t seen her so enthusiastic about school in a long time. I couldn’t be happier!

I wouldn’t like to go into this matter much but let me say that the importance of teachers in a child’s life is often underestimated. I’ve seen Maia (who was always considered to be a bright, inquisitive child) go from boundless enthusiasm for school to crying herself to sleep at the thought of going to school the following morning. Her change in attitude was caused by a change in teachers. She was at her happiest and most motivated in Kindergarten when she was taught by THE BEST teacher I’ve ever had the pleasure to meet. Let’s just say that the teachers who taught her the following years failed to measure up to that particular teacher.

This year, however, promises to be a good one (even on the teacher front). The first thing Maia told me about her new teacher is that she actually jokes and is funny. That’s a major bonus point in my daughter’s books. Then she told me that she can’t wait to see what this year will be like. Now that’s a major bonus point in my books.

She was very nervous that morning but very excited too.
We finally found a Charlie and Lola back that’s big enough to hold all her books (so far). She’s had her eyes on that lunch bag for more than a year so we had to get it for her!

It’s hard to believe she’s already in her third year of primary school. This first day and this one only feel a few weeks away!

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

