This weekend

This weekend started early for us, and by us I mean the husband and me.

On Friday we decided to celebrate our anniversary on the larger island, combining some meetings and errands with a date night (I honestly cannot remember the last time we had a date night before this one!). Being the low-key people that we are and having a craving for burgers, we went to Badass Burgers following many friends’ recommendations. The burgers were very good (although the bun didn’t live up to the actual burger) and too big for me to finish. We enjoyed the first meal without children in what must have been months and then went to the cinema to watch That’s My Boy. It wasn’t the typical romantic film one might watch on a date night, but the husband is a big fan of Adam Sandler and we left the cinema wiping tears of laughter, which is good enough for me.

Going to the larger island for date night turned out to be a brilliant idea. To start with, there are only a handful of places one can go to on this island and wherever we go, we end up chatting to people we know (especially the husband), which somehow ruins the whole point of a date night. Being on the larger island also has a strange effect on me. I love this small island and it’s where I was born and raised, but the larger island is the home I had chosen for myself when I was old enough to take that decision and it’s where I feel alive. I love the fact that I don’t know every single person in the street and few people know me, I love the noise, the bustle of the busier towns, the fact that there are hundreds of restaurants to choose from and that I feel like me (as opposed to Maia and Robin’s mum) when I’m there. So I think it’s safe to say that all future date nights will be happening across the channel.

Saturday was equal parts relaxing and busy, with Maia starting her dance lessons again and now we’ve also added music lessons to the mix. We’ll have to wait and see how she copes with school, homework, catechism lessons, modern jazz and ballet lessons AND music lessons. So far she’s loving every minute of her days but I’m ready to cull her list of lessons as I see adequate. We’ll have to wait and see.

I spent most of yesterday reading about Mormonism and Mormons. Don’t ask me why, but I’m utterly fascinated by this religion. I have no intention of converting from Roman Catholicism (I might not talk much about it but I like to think I’m strong in my faith) but the more I learn about The Church of Latter Day Saints, the more I want to know. Speaking of which, if you are Mormon or know about Mormonism, please drop me a line. I’d love to learn more!

My date. *sigh*
These burgers were Badass.
We spent most of Saturday afternoon playing with a set of famous moustaches we bought Maia. They were fun and also educational in a way because she demanded to know who each person was. Here she’s channeling Salvador Dali’.
Here she’s Albert Einstein. This is also my favourite photo of the whole set (you can see the rest on my Instagram feed). She even wore this moustache to the main town when we went shopping, much to the amusement of all passers-by.
4 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Lol I love Maia’s poses!! The last one in particular 🙂

  2. Check this blog out. Stephanie and her family are Mormons http://nieniedialogues.blogspot.nl

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

