May your mind be blown too

Our date night last week started with a film. The only cinema on this island shows two films on any given day, so our choice was limited to Anna Karenina and Killing Them Softly. I’m not a fan of Brad Pitt (shock! horror!) and am definitely not into films teeming with gun-wielding gangsters, so the choice was easy.

I was already familiar with the story of Anna Karenina and I’m sure I had seen an older adaptation of the book, but I couldn’t remember the details and I hadn’t seen the trailer to the one we were about to watch. So, the only expectation we had walking into the cinema was to spend a few hours holding hands and talking without any small children interrupting our conversation or small hands trying to separate ours.

I must have written ten blog posts in my head as I was watching the film, but now that I’m actually writing one I’m stumped. I could say that the costumes were lavish, the acting superb (hats off to Keira Knightley, even though I’m not a huge fan of her and her pout), the photography impeccable (oh the lighting!) and the music haunting. I could use all the superlatives in the book, but I wouldn’t do it justice. I especially couldn’t do justice to the very particular interpretation by Joe Wright.

I guess this is the kind of film you either love or hate. And I can only imagine two types of people hating it: those who have no imagination and those who like their book adaptations to be literal. I’m usually one of the latter, but this film blew my mind. It also blew the husband’s. We walked out of the cinema with blown minds and a lot to discuss and dissect.

I can tell you three words about Joe Wright’s Anna Karenina: GO SEE IT!

 

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Thanks for this – I will definitely put it on our order list! And I don’t like Keira Knightley either. It’s as if she’s always angry at the world…

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

