Your favourites: Love in Paris

While we’re in the City of Light, I thought I’d share with you some of the most popular posts on Island Fairy to date. They’re not necessarily my favourites, but you guys loved them, so enjoy!

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

I’ve been singing in a choir for the past 17 years (just realised that’s half my life!) and every now and then we are invited to sing in a different country. Just over two years ago we were invited to sing in Paris and The Man joined us as a photographer (apart from being the best father, husband and cook, he’s also a very talented photographer).  At the time we had been together for eight months and this was the first time we were going away ‘alone’ (i.e. without Munchkin).

It was the first time both of us had been to Paris and we fell in love with the city instantly. Little did we know that that weekend in Paris was to change the course of our lives. Well, little did I know…

Saturday 29th November 2008 was a cloudy day in Paris. I woke up craving a caramel macchiato from Starbucks and The Man woke up swearing because the light was not good for photos from the Eiffel Tower, which was what we had planned to do that day. Now, you should know that he’s never in a bad mood. He’s a very positive person and nothing gets him down and I had never seen him in such a mood before (or since)then.

Eventually we made it to the Tower and exactly two hours after we started queuing we reached the top. Needless to say, the view was spectacular. It was also incredibly cold and windy and all that was visible of me was my watery eyes peeping from between my scarf and hat. The Man was all excited and wanted to go round to the windiest side, which I thought was manic. I complained and protested and in the end told him I’d wait for him on the lower level. He literally pounced on me, dragged me in a corner and hugged me. Just then he whispered in my ear whether I would marry him. I was shocked, incredulous and very very happy. My first reaction was to laugh as I thought it was a joke, but then I realised he was serious and of course I said yes…after crying some.

His original plan had been to write the proposal on the railing of the tower (yes, he wanted to vandalise a French national monument!) but I ruined that for him (sigh). After he proposed I completely forgot about the cold and went back out in the wind with him. It was then that he wrote the proposal (yes, he still managed to vandalise a French national monument):

And that’s but one of the million reasons I love Paris so much.

[originally posted on 31st January 2010]

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. This is so romantic! Makes me tear up 🙂 And I love how you guys go back now as a family and you can tell your kids, look, this is where your dad proposed 🙂 So special!

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

