Our Christmas

How was your Christmas? I hope you were close to the people you love and that you didn’t have to work. But if you did work, thank you for dedicating your time to helping others, no matter what your job is.

My husband was one of those working on Christmas morning. It wasn’t ideal, especially because Christmas morning is the most exciting time of that day. He missed seeing the girls get out of bed excitedly and run to the Christmas tree. He missed them ripping open their presents and hugging the toys they unwrapped. To make matters worse, the GoPro’s card was full, as was my iPad’s memory and I couldn’t locate my camera. I only managed to take a couple of photos, but I can’t and won’t complain. Because the husband then joined us for lunch and was with us for the rest of the day, unlike a lot of people who had to work all day or were away from their family.

So, the morning was spent cooking, doing the laundry (I honestly couldn’t skip a day of laundry) and watching the girls play with their new toys. We also held a little celebration for baby Jesus, singing him Happy Birthday and watching the Nativity Story on TV. Lunch was followed by lots of silliness and dancing to Christmas carols and then it was finally time to meet my side of the family to celebrate my nephew’s birthday.

It was a good day.

[As was the gift I got from the husband. I’m the proud owner of a Bourgie lamp!]

Present opening. Robin got her own Lola doll (she loves Charlie and Lola as much as her sister does) and other toys. Maia got Charlie, Sizzles and some Lalaloopsy sets (she gave in to the media pressure).
Present opening. Robin got her own Lola doll (she loves Charlie and Lola as much as her sister does) and other toys. Maia got Charlie, Sizzles and some Lalaloopsy sets (she gave in to the media pressure).
Our Charlie and Lola family is now complete. That's the Cookie Monster (Maia's present to Robin) being attacked by Sizzles and Chouquette the guinea pig.
Our Charlie and Lola family is now complete. That’s the Cookie Monster (Maia’s present to Robin) being attacked by Sizzles and Chouquette the guinea pig.

christmas afternoon

The Bourgie. I love it!
The Bourgie. I love it!

 

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

