The great outdoors

I’ve never been the adventurous type. The most daring thing I ever did was join a group of quasi-professional cyclists on an afternoon cycling around the larger island (I could barely balance on a bike) and that ended up with a fractured elbow and a broken bike.

Then I went and married a guy who could live in a tent.

He used to keep all his camping equipment in his car before he met Maia and me. Now it’s all put away in a garage and hadn’t seen the light of day in almost five years. Then our most adventurous friends by far decided to spend the first few days of the new year camping and we decided to tag along. Ok, I’ll rephrase that. The husband decided we should join them and I reluctantly agreed. So we spent the past few of days, except for yesterday, collecting twigs to keep a fire going, hiking and watching the kids get dirty while chasing each other around the campsite. Because the husband had to work early in the morning these past few days, we decided to spend the nights at home (much to my relief).

Today Maia and the husband went back to the campsite while I stayed at home with Robin. I didn’t feel like braving the cold damp air while nursing a sore throat and chasing the little one. So, while Maia climbs some of the most beautiful cliffs on the island and plays tag with her friends, Robin and I have been spending the day having tea with her monsters, playing with Maia’s nesting dolls and watching her beloved BaBa (a.k.a. Barney).

Now I’m counting down the hours until they’re safely back home so I can see the videos of their day.

Looking for firewood is by far Maia's favourite camping activity, especially if it's dark and she needs a flashlight to find her way back to the camp.
Looking for firewood is by far Maia’s favourite camping activity, especially if it’s dark and she needs a flashlight to find her way back to the camp.
This little nugget took to the outdoors like a duck to water. She spent ages playing with stones and twigs and made herself comfortable the rest of the time.
This little nugget took to the outdoors like a duck to water. She spent ages playing with stones and twigs and made herself comfortable the rest of the time.
The inland sea we've grown to love so much. And a daddy with his GoPro *this* close to their noses.
The inland sea we’ve grown to love so much. And a daddy with his GoPro *this* close to their noses.

 

4 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I am like you Maureen. The closest I get to outdoor activity is a walk in the countryside. Camping would be my ultimate nightmare. Thankfully A is with me on this!

  2. what an act of love each to the other… him packing it away for you… you stepping out of comfort for him. beautiful. this is why marriage makes us better people. 🙂

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

