Prettifying the mundane

I realise that only yesterday I promised myself I’d stop wasting time on the internet when I was supposed to be working, but can I just share something with you first?

You might have noticed from the button in the right hand column that Cath Kidston has joined Bonlook in supporting this blog. I’m not a big fan of very girly things or twee patterns, with the exception of this brand. I cannot even remember when I first came across Cath Kidston but I do remember that it was love at first sight. There’s something so nostalgic and yet modern about the whole brand. I am very lucky to have a sister who pays attention to my rants and has slowly been building my collection of everyday objects covered in Kidston’s famous floral patterns. It might sound silly but drying the dishes with one of her dishcloths makes the task that much more enjoyable.

That’s not to say that I haven’t been secretly compiling a wishlist of items I plan on buying. Most of the items I’ve listed are for the girls (Maia is an even bigger fan of the brand!), but there are some others I wouldn’t mind having for myself.

You have to admit I’d probably be a hundred times more productive with these pretties, right?

This apron is right up my alley. I'd cook up a storm wearing one of these! Maybe...
This apron is right up my alley. I’d cook up a storm wearing one of these! Maybe…
I used to always wear marigolds to do the washing up but I haven't in a long time and my dry and cracked hands are proof. These would tempt me to ditch the dishwasher. I'm not sure I'd give in to the temptation, but I'd still love to have them cheering up my kitchen.
I used to always wear marigolds to do the washing up but I haven’t in a long time and my dry and cracked hands are proof. These would tempt me to ditch the dishwasher. I’m not sure I’d give in to the temptation, but I’d still love to have them cheering up my kitchen.
Ironing. Oh how I hate ironing! Part of the reason is being stuck in the cold laundry room on my own. With a cover like this, however, I wouldn't mind keeping the ironing board in the living room.
Part of the reason I’m always putting off ironing is because I hate being stuck in the cold laundry room on my own. With a cover like this, however, I wouldn’t mind keeping the ironing board in the living room.
Can you imagine a whole office lined with pretty box files? I can, especially because our filing is kept in grey files on rickety shelves in the laundry room. I've sort of convinced myself we need to replace them all with Cath Kidston files. I just don't know how to convince the husband.
Can you imagine a whole office lined with pretty box files? I can, especially because our filing is kept in grey files on rickety shelves in the laundry room. I’ve sort of convinced myself we need to replace them all with Cath Kidston files. I just don’t know how to convince the husband yet.

 

 

7 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I have to be honest and admit I don’t really understand the obsession England has with Cath Kidston! Everyone here has a Cath Kidston bag!! They do have some pretty things I have to admit, but I think they’re a bit too pricey. Having said all that I did buy that exact same apron for a friend’s birthday, only because she drools over CK things 🙂

  2. I WANT THAT APRON!! NOW!

  3. It’s a good thing I don’t live in England!

  4. I totally love Cath Kidston! Have the Mclaren pushchair for Amy…the Cath kidston design…red with white polka dots…totally love her stuff!

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

