Random stuff

This year I will turn 37. My first baby turns 8 this Friday. My second baby turns 21 months this Friday too. My third baby is still a dream. And yet, I only felt like I had reached adulthood this past week. I won’t go into details here, because much of what caused this epiphany has nothing to do with me, but all the stress of these past few days served to remind me that I’m not a child anymore.

I am married, think I’ve been through a fair share of heartbreak and am responsible for two little souls but all that never made me feel like I was really ‘a grown up’. Life as I knew it changed dramatically within a few hours last week and that’s when the penny dropped. I am no longer that young and life can be cruel. People can turn out to be very different from what they portray themselves to be. Love can turn to hate. We are all vulnerable, no matter how strong we think we are. There’s a lot of pain behind some of the happy faces we see everyday. We are all together in this adventure called life.

********************

We leave for a snow holiday in a couple of days. Maia’s lucky birthday plus the fact that our islands will be very noisy and chaotic next weekend, prompted us to book a flight to the Italian Alps. We need some quality time with the man of the house, away from computers, cameras, school, dance lessons and elections. In case you were wondering whether we’re the secret owners of a gold mine, we’re not. We book cheap flights months in advance and shop around for cheap but cheerful accommodation through AirBnB and keep costs to a minimum. We don’t go shopping when we’re abroad, except to buy things we really need and can’t find here and usually make our own meals with supermarket-bought food instead of eating out all the time.

I still can’t broach the subject of Maia’s impending birthday without becoming a sobbing mess, so I’ll write about that another time.

I don’t know if I’ll have the time to write again before we leave because both girls are home these next two days. Maia has got the sniffles and won’t be going to school, hoping for a fast recovery before our departure. I would really like to avoid a repeat performance of our latest holiday. Tending to two sick children while on holiday is no holiday at all.

********************

I still keep up with Instagram and Twitter (I am not tweeting much but reply to any tweets I’m sent and post all Instagram pictures there too) if you want to keep in touch that way. If you’re on Instagram and I don’t follow you, let me know your username so I can keep up with you too!

Have a great week, friends! I’ll leave you with a few pictures from our week…

There was a lot of listening to music.
There was a lot of listening to music.We enjoyed the fresh air as much as we could.We enjoyed the fresh air as much as we could.

playing with maia

tag on pavement

There was a lot of singing.
There was a lot of singing.

raaah

Her eyes... *sigh*
Her eyes… *sigh*rob 21 months minus 5

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Enjoy your time away. I hope things work out for you, whatever they may be…. And.. It was nice to meet you in person 🙂

  2. It seems that you really need this holidays! Hope you all enjoy lots. Loved the pics, specially the one with Maia trying to give a scare to her sister 😉

  3. I do hope all is okay now Mau, and I truly wish you a great holiday xxx

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

