The Italian Alps

A week has passed since we left Italy and came back home. This was possibly my favourite holiday with the kids to date. Paris is and will remain my favourite city to visit, but there were many things that made this week in the Italian Alps memorable.

To start with, I was comfortable. And by comfortable I mean that I had a washing machine and a dishwasher at my disposal, the privacy of our own flat (which was very clean, modern and functional) and a car to take us wherever we fancied and in which the girls could nap while we travelled. What this translated into was less clothes to wash upon our return home, no missed naps, no need to pack so much or buy extra underwear, socks or anything we’d have run out of, dinners cooked at the flat (saving us money, stressful dinners at restaurants and making early bedtimes possible) and the possibility of having some time alone with the husband once the girls were asleep in their own room. Add to that a hydromassage shower, pure potable water running out of the taps and a kind hostess and I was ready to move there permanently.

Then there was the snow covering our backyard, where the girls could play and sled safely while I got us organised for our daily outings. Really, there was snow everywhere, even though the week we spent there was unseasonably warm (5 to 15 degrees celcius). Another thing that helped increase the enjoyment of this holiday and allowed me to actually relax and return home rested (instead of more stressed) was the fact that all of us wore the right attire. This might be a no-brainer for those of you used to the snow. For us, it was a little more difficult to get to grips with. I have learned through experience that if my children are warm and dry, then I’m happy and will be okay with whatever it is they want to do. All it took for me to let go of my neuroses were ski trousers, after ski boots and snow jackets for everyone. We might only use them once or twice a year, but every cent spent on those clothes is 100% worth it.

There were many highlights to this holiday, which I might write about another day. Meanwhile, I’ll leave you with a few photos which hold special memories for me. Enjoy!

We did the three hour drive from the airport to the place we were staying at during the night, so we all woke up to this view in the morning! Maia just ran out in her pyjamas!
We did the three hour drive from the airport to the place we were staying at during the night, so we all woke up to this view in the morning! Maia just ran out in her pyjamas!
Every morning, they went out in the yard to play in the snow. They didn't mind the cold one bit.
Every morning, they went out in the yard to play in the snow. They didn’t mind the cold one bit.
Our sweet hostess Anna baked a cake for Maia on her birthday. She couldn't believe her eyes!
Our sweet hostess Anna baked a cake for Maia on her birthday. She couldn’t believe her eyes!
One of the highlights for Maia was feeding and touching an eight month old deer. Robin was less scared of it than she is of dogs!
One of the highlights for Maia was feeding and touching an eight month old deer. Robin was less scared of it than she is of dogs!
Breakfast time. See the shelf full of medicines in the background? Yup, they were both sick (again).
Breakfast time. See the shelf full of medicines in the background? Yup, they were both sick (again).
My favourite day was when we went on a ski lift (I still can't believe I did it!) to some ski slopes.
My favourite day was when we went on a ski lift (I still can’t believe I did it!) to some ski slopes.
It snowed while we were up there.
It snowed while we were up there.
Oh the fun we had on those slopes!
Oh the fun we had on those slopes!
I may have found my sport (until a fencing club opens on this island). We had sledding races against some 9 year old local boys. Best fun ever!
I may have found my sport (until a fencing club opens on this island). We had sledding races against some 9 year old local boys. Best fun ever!
One day we went to Trento and spent most of the afternoon at an amusement park. The girls went on all the rides they were allowed on and we probably spent more money there than during the rest of the holiday.
One day we went to Trento and spent most of the afternoon at an amusement park. The girls went on all the rides they were allowed on and we probably spent more money there than during the rest of the holiday.
Robin was in seventh heaven with all the babooms (balls) there!
Robin was in seventh heaven with all the babooms (balls) there!

8Q9A7199

We spent the last day in Bologna visiting friends but stopped at Sirmione on the way there. What a charming place!
We spent the last day in Bologna visiting friends but stopped at Sirmione on the way there. What a charming place!

8Q9A7368

8Q9A7507 

 

 

 

 

4 Comments

Add yours →

  1. What a beautiful holiday!

  2. The photos are ace! I especially love the one of Robin in the ball pit, the one where she’s on her tip-toes reaching to see over the ledge and the one of her eating with 2 forks 🙂

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

