Robin reads

One of Robin’s current favourite books is one that was handed down by Maia.

I had never heard about The Owl and the Pussycat and bought the book by chance from Shakespeare & Company when we were in Paris three years ago. Since then, I’ve learned that it was written in 1871 (!) and that runcible is a word which Lear himself invented when writing this book. Runcible also happens to be my favourite word in the book, together with rumbustifus.

Robin’s favourite part is when Owl sings to the Pussycat. I had made up a tune to the song when I used to read it to Maia, and Robin hums it along with me. I love seeing her getting excited as that page nears!

This is the edition we have and I LOVE it! The illustrations are the cutest I've seen for this story.
This is the edition we have and I LOVE it! The illustrations are the cutest I’ve seen for this story.
What are your thoughts? Share them here!

