Little luxuries

Daily life can become boring at times. When routine takes over and nothing seems to happen, I tend to get fidgety. Then I remember that life is never uneventful for long and I remind myself that the plateaus should be enjoyed and made the most of because they are sure to be followed by peaks which require renewed energy and stamina.

One of the ways I try to motivate myself when all I seem to do is wipe noses, fold laundry and sweep floors is to be more mindful of the little luxuries which we take for granted. These are some of the things I couldn’t live without…or maybe I could, but life is so much better because of them:

Coffee and our humble little coffee machine at home.
Coffee and our humble little coffee machine at home. [image]
Hot showers and perfume. I used to sell perfume and then spent a few years not wearing any because of morning sickness and breasfeeding. Now it's one of those little things that help me feel put together even if my hair is unbrushed and I've got bags under my eyes.
Hot showers and perfume. I used to sell perfume and then spent a few years not wearing any because of morning sickness and breasfeeding. Now it’s one of those little things that help me feel put together even if my hair is unbrushed and I’ve got bags under my eyes. [image]
 

Reading. Whether it's a magazine, a book or an article, reading is something I cannot live without. It allows me to go on adventures to the end of the earth and beyond, all without leaving my sofa.
Reading. Whether it’s a magazine, a book or an article, reading is something I cannot live without. It allows me to go on adventures to the end of the earth and beyond, all without leaving my sofa. [image]

What are your daily little luxuries?

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. Yes to all. Reading is my luxury in particular. After my 2 year old is in bed, I read in to the night!

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

