Fantastical

Last week, on my birthday, the husband and I went to the larger island for the afternoon. We spent some much-needed time alone, in places almost nobody knew us (which is very rare on these islands). It was so refreshing to be able to talk without being interrupted, to eat Maoam without having to share them or hide them and also to spend a couple of hours at the cinema.

Being on a tight schedule meant we didn’t have the luxury of choosing from the films available but, luckily, the one option we were left with was a film we wanted to watch: The Great Gatsby.

I don’t even know where to start but I want to tell you about it. The direction is complex, breathtaking. The costumes, set, accessories…everything about it screamed roaring 20s, even the music which was very 2013. I’m not a party girl but I would never turn down an invitation to a Gatsby party, even if I was five minutes away from giving birth.

At a certain point in the film, I felt so overwhelmed by everything I was seeing that I was close to tears. There was too much to process: the angles used in directing it, the colours, the interpretation of the story itself…it all transports the viewer to an era shrouded in mystery and legend. Luhrmann’s film is ‘fantastical’, as Nick calls Gatsby’s stories.

Oh, and don’t even get me started about Leonardo di Caprio…

PS – I seem to have a major soft spot for Baz…THIS is what I had to say about another of his films.

 

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

