Our escape to a cabin

Four weeks ago, I had a look at the family calendar for the rest of the year and had to stifle a small scream. There were very few weeks left when the husband wasn’t booked to shoot a wedding and the only free ones happened to fall during Maia’s school year. So far, we’ve had no problem with her missing a few days of school to join us on our travels, but things will change this year. It will be a tough year for her and the one thing we don’t want to do is make her miss schooldays when it can be avoided.

So I panicked and went over the last five months of the year, day by day, trying to find a gap when we could get away together. I had been dreaming about going back to Paris for a few weeks and this year’s trip was looking very unlikely. Then we managed to find a few free days. Four days, to be precise. And so the planning started.

We quickly realised that spending four days in a busy city, much as we love Paris, wasn’t going to do any good to our already frazzled nerves. We needed to unplug, go back to basics, the children needed to run around free and get dirty without having to worry about ruining their clothes. That’s how Paris was discarded (I’m still secretly hoping we’ll manage a quick getaway there somehow) and Norway showed up on our radar.

Both my husband and I have been dreaming of visiting a Scandinavian country for many years but, the truth is, flights so far north are expensive and we only travel because we do it on a shoestring. No luxury flights or hotels for us. We use low-cost airlines (even though I detest them) and find accommodation through AirBnB. Well, it just so happened that flights to Oslo were not expensive for the few free days we had and finding a cabin through AirBnB was, as always, fun and easy.

I’ll leave you with a few photos from my Instagram feed for now. There’s a lot we enjoyed during those short four days but I’ll share them with you in another post. Now excuse me while I nurse my post-holiday blues with an extra-strong coffee.

PS – You can see the rest of my Instagram photos HERE. I wrote about our past trips to Paris HERE, HERE and HERE.

The girls learned how to make a fire (using one matchstick, but don't tell anyone their secret).
The girls learned how to make a fire (using one matchstick, but don’t tell anyone their secret).
Meals were all had outside on the deck. We were lucky the weather was nice (and cold, which is what we wanted).
Meals were all had outside on the deck. We were lucky the weather was nice (and cold, which is what we wanted).
Sunset over the lake. Breathtakingly beautiful.
Sunset over the lake. Breathtakingly beautiful.
During this trip I realised how lucky I am to have married someone who constantly pushes me out of my comfort zone. He's the best decision I ever took.
During this trip I realised how lucky I am to have married someone who constantly pushes me out of my comfort zone. He’s the best decision I ever took.
Thanks to a quick consultation with Norwegian Instagrammers, we concluded that the blueberries growing in the forest we were surrounded by were safe to eat (unlike the majority of the hundreds of mushrooms growing there). Maia picked these for our landlord.
Thanks to a quick consultation with Norwegian Instagrammers, we concluded that the blueberries growing in the forest we were surrounded by were safe to eat (unlike the majority of the hundreds of mushrooms growing there). Maia picked these for our landlord.
We managed to visit Oslo for a few hours. One of the places we visited (at the very top of the husband's wishlist) was the Oslo Opera House. What a stunning building! We spent an hour running around on its spectacular roof.
We managed to visit Oslo for a few hours. One of the places we visited (at the very top of the husband’s wishlist) was the Oslo Opera House. What a stunning building! We spent an hour running around on its spectacular roof.
Yours truly, my dark roots and one of my loves.
Yours truly, my dark roots and one of my loves.
Open spaces and Maia = non-stop running and jumping.
Open spaces and Maia = non-stop running and jumping.
2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Thanks for the B&B link !!!You Norway holiday looks so idyllic and peaceful 🙂

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

