Back to school, 2013 edition

We’re three days into the new school year and we’re still trying to adjust to the new rhythm of our days.

Getting out of the house at eight in the morning is great. The hour leading up to our exit from our flat is not. I’m also, as I had predicted, having the hardest time being there for Maia while she does her homework in the afternoon, while keeping Robin busy and out of her sister’s hair. I can’t but laugh at myself when I remember I wanted (want?) to have another child.

Maia, on the other hand, is loving everything about school right now (minus the homework, obviously). She really likes her new teacher, her classmates and, especially, her class name (they’re the Pirates!). I hope that she’ll still be as excited about school as she is right now when the novelty wears off.

You might have already seen these photos if we’re friends on Instagram but I will post them here as well, like I did the other years.

First day of school 2013
First day of school 2013
First day of school 2012 (left) and this year's on the right. I was shocked at how much she's grown over this year. You can tell by the position of the stars behind her. You can also tell that those peeling, faded stickers need to be changed.
First day of school 2012 (left) and this year’s on the right. I was shocked at how much she’s grown over this year. You can tell by the position of the stars behind her. You can also tell that those peeling, faded stickers need to be changed.

Yesterday afternoon was a disaster. I had been out with Robin all morning and expected her to nap well into Maia’s homework time. I was very wrong. She fell asleep after resisting sleep for almost an hour, only to wake up just over an hour later. The following couple of hours were spent trying to answer Maia’s questions, urging her not to waste time staring at the wall or doing cartwheels, cleaning up after Robin and trying to keep her away from Maia and generally stressing myself out over my inability to juggle the needs of my two daughters.

At a certain point, my yelling became too much for my husband and he got Robin dressed and took her to the playground to burn some energy. This is what they were up to:

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

