When are you due?

Asking someone who isn’t pregnant when they are due has to be one of the worst gaffes one can commit. If you’ve been reading my rants long enough, you’ll probably remember that time when everyone thought I was pregnant but I wasn’t. Remember this day? And this one? Because I do and I still cringe at the memory.

Well, I’ve reached that point again. I can honestly say that I’ve never been this big, except for when I was pregnant. Before you start wondering, let me assure you that I’m not expecting again. I’ve been noticing my clothes getting tighter and my old hip injury has been playing up due to the increase in weight, but nothing could have prepared me for the betrayal I suffered at the hands of my two daughters.

A couple of weeks ago, Maia asked me repeatedly whether I was pregnant. When I insisted that I wasn’t and asked her why she was asking, she simply told me that my tummy was big like when I was pregnant with Robin. No sooner had I recovered from that first shock (fine, I wasn’t really shocked but it still stung) than my other bundle of joy tells me the same thing, using her own words. Robin was watching a Peppa Pig episode about Mummy Rabbit being pregnant. As soon as she saw the very pregnant bunny, she called me excitedly saying “Mama’! Rabbit! Baby! You!”, while pointing at my belly.

I guess the time has come for something to be done. I either lose the extra weight now or I’ll be forced to bring another baby home.

Five years ago, when my weight was the last thing on my mind. This was the first 'date' Maia and I had gone on with the man who would become our family. *wipes tears*
Five years ago, when my weight was the last thing on my mind. This was the first ‘date’ Maia and I had gone on with the man who would become our family. *wipes tears*

 

4 Comments

Add yours →

  1. You’re always on the slender side Mau! I wouldn’t worry. Lol your kids must think I’m expecting twins then 😉

  2. Mau, I hear you. As you said, suddenly nothing fits and I’m the biggest I’ve been except for when I was nearly due with Cik. If you find something that works please share!

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

