The library project – an update

Three months ago, Nuria’s Adventure Number 21 was launched and with its launch came a lot of changes.

The first thing to change was the available floor space in our flat. 30% of our bedroom is taken up by bags and boxes of books, as is my car boot and part of the hall. I have now received just over 600 books (at the last count) and the time has come to start putting these donations to good use.

Today, in honour of International School Library Day, a few of these books were donated to the library of largest government school in Gozo (Rabat Primary). The rest have been split into two batches. The first will go to the main lending library, also in our main town. The people responsible for this library will then decide whether to keep these books or distribute them to the fairly new libraries that have been set up by our villages’ local councils.

Then there’s one more batch left and this is the one that’s got me all excited.

Following the suggestion of many fellow islanders, a lot of whom donated books, I have joined forces with two friends to start a new library. This project is still in its embryonic stage, but we’ve got the all-clear from lawyers, MEPA and the local library association, so it’s a GO! I have to admit that I was a little reluctant to even consider this idea at first, but my friends, who happen to be qualified teachers who already work to promote literacy, took over and I just couldn’t say no. I don’t have a lot of details to share with you right now, but I hope to be able to very soon.

In the meantime, you can still donate any gently used/new books to help out. I know that there are some more books to arrive from overseas and I can’t wait for our little collection to grow. Since this project will be a labour of love, any help (of any kind) will be appreciated. Finally, thank you a million times over for showing our island’s children so much love! It’s time we all worked together to promote a love of books on our islands.

In the words of Dr Seuss, “The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more you learn, the more places you’ll go.”

libraryproject 2013

 

14 Comments

Add yours →

  1. That’s fantastic news! How exciting 🙂

  2. That’s such nice news! Are these books meant only to be children books? I’ve been planning to send some books but I don’t have any children books (at least not in the Netherlands).

  3. This has made me SO happy it’s brought a tear to my eye. I had really hoped you didn’t give up on the idea. So very excited for you. This will go far x

  4. Wel done Mau!! If you need any help, count me in x

  5. what a great idea!!!! is this only in gozo or also in malta?

  6. Awesome !!!!! Well done Mau. Can I work in your library? LOL :p

  7. Hello Maureen! How good is this! Will share virtually everywhere http://sco.lt/84UQSX

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

