So long, 2013!

I couldn’t let the year end without writing a few words here. The will to write certainly hasn’t died. If anything, it has become stronger than ever. It’s time that’s lacking. That’s not to say I have absolutely no free time on my hands, but that I am choosing to use it otherwise. Like watching my husband wipe tears of laughter while he watches Duck Dynasty or squeezing Robin while she repeats “Aww mama, I miss you!” or reading an extra chapter with Maia.

In a few days, I fly to Rome with my singing buddies. I haven’t been abroad with the choir since before Maia was born and I’m really looking forward to spending a few days immersed in music. Not only that, but this particular tour will be a historic one (I kid you not). We’ll be singing at the Pope’s Epiphany Mass in St Peter’s Basilica next Monday, alongside the Vatican’s own Sistine Chapel Choir. To say we are pooping our pants with excitement and nerves would be an understatement. You have to understand the enormity of this event…we’ll be the first women ever to sing for the Pope, during one of the most important dates of the Catholic calendar. In St Peter’s Basilica. With his own choir. I’m hyperventilating as I type.

So, apart from the above, this trip will also be the first I’ll be taking on my own since I became a parent. I can’t quite wrap my head around the fact that I won’t be seeing my girls and my man for five whole days. It’s a break I desperately need (going abroad as a family is not as relaxing as one might think…you still wash bums and cook dinners but do it in a different setting) but one I’m also dreading. I won’t be here to wipe tears and give cuddles and to tuck their blankets just so. They will have their dad and my family, so they’ll be fine, but I can’t help feeling a tiny twinge of mummy guilt.

Anyway, being the last day of the year, I’ve been looking back on these past twelve months, mostly through photos. All I can say is that it’s been a good year. Nothing momentous happened, but a lot of small changes occurred which will bring with them much bigger ones. I am thankful for this life I’ve been given and hope you feel the same way too, dear reader.

Have a very happy 2014!

s

 

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Thanks for this post and enjoy Roma

    Sent from my iPad

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

