Practise what you preach

Pola & Frank via Hanna Andersen

Lately, I’ve been feeling the weight of responsibility a bit more than usual. The older my children get, the more aware I become of the fact that I’m a mother to girls. I don’t know whether I would feel differently towards a son, but the fact that I’m a woman raising other women is something that has been on my mind a lot lately.

When Maia was smaller, I was more taken by the daily challenges and worries. Most of my energy went into making sure she was eating, healthy and happy. Obviously, those are still daily priorities, but I now think a lot more about her future and that of her sister. I try to imagine the women they will grow into and which qualities will define them as adults. What this usually does is make me take a long, hard look at myself and try to see what kind of woman they see in me.

I have noticed that I myself tend to mirror my own mother’s behaviour and way of thinking, especially when it comes to parenting. I wish I could say I was as selfless, efficient and hard-working as she is, but I am nowhere near as nurturing. What I did notice, however, is a tendency to feel guilty if I so much as take my own needs into consideration. I am the daughter of a woman who never stopped to think about herself. She is the most giving person I know. I grew up believing that being a parent meant putting your own life on hold indefinitely and only noticed what was happening last year, when a small bubble of resentment inside me started to grow until I felt like it was choking me.

I want my daughters to grow into strong, independent women who believe in themselves and go after their dreams. I secretly hope they will one day experience the joy of being parents, though I’d never make them feel like they are expected to. And if they do become mothers, I want them to be well-rounded individuals who work and have interests outside motherhood while raising their own children. Which brings me to the question: are they seeing these qualities in me? I certainly preach about them often, but I cannot say I am living them.

What I alluded to last week is my fear of letting go of the guilt feelings which are holding me back. I have come to realise that I am using them as an excuse to sabotage myself. I guess it’s time I started practising what I preach.

image credit: Pola & Frank via Hanna Andersson on Pinterest

3 Comments

Add yours →

  1. oh Maureen! I could relate to almost every sentence you wrote, the only difference being I am raising a boy and a girl, and I worry the sort of influence I am having on these two tiny future adults constantly. My mother is the type that always put us first, never ever taking any time out for herself and never complained. Unfortunately, I find my inner voice complaining all of the time, and it worries and scares me. Mummy guilt plagues me all the time (when I am at home I worry that I should be focusing on my career, when I am at work, I wish I was at home, blah blah blah.) Does it ever end? Will I ever strike a happy balance that makes everyone happy? I recently took the plunge and attended a course abroad, something that I’ve been aching to do for a looong time. 9 days away! But we survived. And I came back a little more balanced than before!

  2. This entire mothering gig is full of worry and concern isn’t it. I’m not sure that there is a lot of difference in that regard between raising boys and girls – I have fears for both. There are times when my greatest fear is that they will end up like me, I want so much more for them. Then I have to shake myself out of it and admit to myself that that wouldn’t be such a bad thing and that if I want them to be confident and self assured their father and I need to be seen to at least have positive self talk and image. Practising what we preach is so much easier said than done.

    • I know! Sometimes I wish I would stop analysing my every move, but then feel guilty if I don’t. At this point I’m living every day as it comes and trying to enjoy these first few years of their lives. We’re all doing our best after all.

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

