Robin turns three

One of the most important events that happened during my hiatus from blogging was Robin turning three. I couldn’t let it go undocumented, could I?

She had been waiting for her birthday since March (since her sister’s birthday) and every single day she would ask me whether that day was her big day. So when her actual birthday finally arrived, we couldn’t let it go by without a fitting celebration. When asked what she wanted to do to celebrate, she was very clear. A bouncy castle, a pink cake (lovingly made by my talented sister), pink balloons and toys. That’s what she wanted and that’s what she got. We threw her a party featuring a lot of pink and a little of Peppa Pig (always a firm favourite with her). A few friends joined her on the bouncy castle, had their cute faces painted over and ate M&M’s* cake.

The following day, which was her actual birthday, we surprised her with more pink balloons and another candle to blow for breakfast. She unwrapped more presents and practically squealed her way through the morning. Not having blown enough candles, my mum surprised her with yet another cake later that day. You should have seen her face every time we sang her Happy Birthday! She’s such a sweet girl.

8Q9A8459 8Q9A8660 8Q9A8440 8Q9A8494 8Q9A8590 8Q9A8601 8Q9A8613 8Q9A8597 8Q9A8734

More than anything, I want to remember Robin at this age. Three was definitely not my favourite age when her sister was smaller. First-time motherhood made me overly anxious when Maia hit the terrible twos, threes, fours…it was a never-ending phase with her, mostly because I dealt with it the worst way possible. The more she screamed and cried during her tantrums, the more I tried to comfort her, which only made things worse. With Robin, we nipped it in the bud. She rarely throws a tantrum, although her high-pitched screams are notorious. If she does throw some drama our way, we ignore it and she’s back to normal within seconds. This might be one of the reasons that three is my new favourite age. There is not a day that goes by that she doesn’t stop me in my tracks. She’s the perfect mix of sweetness, hard-headedness and fun.

This is Robin at three:

  • favourite toy: dolls, always dolls. She’s a nurturer by nature and spends hours talking to, swaddling, rocking and feeding her ‘babies’.
  • favourite expressions: “Don’t worry!” (if you ask her to do something or tell her off for doing something, she’ll normally dismiss the whole affair with those words); “Holy Kitty” (instead of Hello Kitty); “Oh my darling tomato!” (she says this all the time but nobody knows where she got it from or which tomato she’s referring to); “You’re so beautifill!” (to anyone in a dress or anything sparkly).
  • she’s convinced she’s got a baby in her tummy too and he’s usually watching TV.
  • favourite colour: pink, in case it wasn’t clear.
  • favourite food: hard to tell. She’s the best eater I’ve ever known and will try anything once. She does have a particular fondness for tomatoes and for ‘tsocklit’.
  • when asked what she will be when she grows up, she said: “I will clean tables, clean glass and on computer”. It sounds like she’ll be following in her mother’s footsteps then…

 

*Note for those who, like me, are anal about spelling: Please note that that’s the correct spelling, using an apostrophe. I checked.

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Heh oh my gosh, Cesca is the same – rubbing her tummy and telling me how her baby is swimming as well 🙂

  2. Hanini how adorable. I remember the first pictures you showed of her. Omg does time fly but I am glad to see she still kept part of that cheekiness she has always had. So adorable ❤

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

