Baby number 3’s first holiday

About a month ago, the husband and I managed to get away for a weekend. We were celebrating five years of marriage and also the first holiday without children since our honeymoon.

In keeping with the romantic nature of our celebrations, we decided to go to Verona, the city of love. Romeo and Juliet was the first Shakespeare play I read and studied in depth and it has remained one of my favourite works of literature ever since. Neither of us had ever been to Verona before, so it was nice to discover this lovely city together. Being able to talk without being interrupted, sleeping in the largest bed I’ve ever seen (it makes all the difference when you sleep with a pillow on either side of you to support your back and hips) and eating some pretty amazing food was just what we needed after a summer of relentless work for both of us.

The highlight of this holiday, however, was people’s reaction to my current body shape. Just when I had managed to convince myself that I was misinterpreting the staring at my pregnant belly, we went to the one place on earth bereft of pregnant women. I kid you not. In four days we only saw ONE pregnant lady and she was much, much smaller than me. I was stared at, congratulated heartily by strangers, asked how I was feeling carrying all that weight, told how brave I was to be out and about in my condition and reminded, yet again, how very large my belly was for someone who was just over six months pregnant. A few hours in and I was starting to feel sorry for myself.

Then we had an idea.

All the attention the bump was getting made me feel like I was just the carrier of a baby bump. Which, in turn, reminded us that Maia’s first trip abroad had happened when I was six weeks pregnant with her, Robin’s when I was about three months pregnant and this was our third baby’s first holiday. It needed documenting. So we created a series of photos for this child to treasure when s/he grows up. We had fun taking them and it helped take people’s comments (even though most were well-meaning) lightly.

Spot the bump:

8Q9A8774

8Q9A8709

Next to the Arena di Verona.
Next to the Arena di Verona. One day we’ll see an opera there.
One of the best meals we had (
One of the best meals we had (Ristorante Cangrande, tucked away on one of the side roads near Piazza Bra).
I laughed so much when we were taking this one. That weekend, there was the Verona Marathon and the bump just had to have a photo taken here.
I laughed so much when we were taking this one. That weekend, there was the Verona Marathon and the bump just had to have a photo taken here.

8Q9A89248Q9A8937

Whenever we're visiting a new city, we use the hop-on hop-off bus tours to visit places of interest without having to walk a lot. Never did I appreciate a bus's comfortable seat as much as this time.
Whenever we’re visiting a new city, we use the hop-on hop-off bus tours to visit places of interest without having to walk a lot. Never did I appreciate a bus’s comfortable seat as much as this time.

8Q9A8907

A highlight for me was visiting Juliet's balcony. Unfortunately, the place was packed with tourists but it's still a place to visit when in Verona.
A highlight for me was visiting Juliet’s balcony. Unfortunately, the place was packed with tourists but it’s still a place to visit when in Verona.
The famous wall where lovers leave their notes to Juliet.
The famous wall where lovers leave their notes to Juliet.
This was the first time I had seen (or heard of) a selfie stick. Naturally, it had to be two Japanese ladies using it.
This was the first time I had seen (or heard of) a selfie stick. Naturally, it had to be two Japanese ladies using it.
While we were there, we drove up to Lago di Garda for a day. It was picture perfect.
While we were there, we drove up to Lago di Garda for a day. It was picture perfect.
The weather was perfect for sailing and windsurfing.
The weather was perfect for sailing and windsurfing.
The last morning was spent in Bologna, one of my favourite cities. A photo under the porticos was obligatory.
The last morning was spent in Bologna, one of my favourite cities. A photo under the porticos was obligatory.
One Comment

Add yours →

  1. Good morning Maureen,

    As usual thank you for sharing. The Spot the Bump was a fantastic idea.

    I have a huge smile on my face this morning thanks you…

    BE PROUD OF THE BUMP !!

    xxx

    TAKE CARE

    Liz

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

