What’s your name again?

My morning ritual is sacred to me. It’s the only time of the day when I am alone and not fighting a losing battle with heavy eyelids. I wake up at the crack of dawn just so I can spend half an hour doing my own thing, without any requests from anyone else and not having to utter a single word.

I used to spend that half hour doing my yoga practice. These days, that habit has been replaced by another one that might not be doing my body any favours but sets the mood for the entire day. I now catch up on my Instagram feed while eating my breakfast.

This morning, I came across the hashtag #starbucksnames and I spent a good ten minutes wiping tears of laughter. If you have ever been to a Starbucks, you will know that they rarely write their customers’ names correctly. I cannot remember all the monikers I was given, but I do recall a Marilyn. Seeing all the misspelt names, most of which had nothing to do with the original name, I looked up the phenomenon and came across some gems like these websites: http://starbucksspelling.tumblr.com/ and  http://www.whatsmystarbucksname.com/ and the video where a Starbucks ’employee’ explains why they never get your name right:

I don’t know whether that is the real reason or whether it is simply that they cannot hear well over the din behind the counter, but I sure hope they keep up the tradition. It’s the best part of their service!

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Hilarious! Sadly… it’s been a very long time since I’ve been to a Starbucks, so I don’t really remember how they spelled my name. But I can’t wait to visit just to find out. lol

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

