Love carries on

If you have read here for any length of time, you’ll know that I don’t make small babies and, just as I always suspected, Ivy is by far the biggest of the three. She is now eight months old and weighs 11kgs (24lbs). That kind of weight at her age comes with a host of complications.

Apart from the fact that she already wears clothes intended for two-year-olds, she is too big for most things intended for babies her age. She is the baby I have carried the least, even though she is the one I need to carry the most. Our days do not revolve around her and her needs. Unfortunately, being the third child, she has to go along with the schedule of the rest of the family. She gets woken up from naps to join me on the school run, her meals are sometimes had on the go and she tags along wherever I need to go.

Up until recently, I used to carry her in our ring sling. She loves it and I loved being able to hold her close and cuddle her while going about my day…until my hip started playing up again. The chronic pain came back with a vengeance after a very welcome reprieve during early pregnancy and carrying Ivy’s weight directly on the offending area wasn’t doing me any favours. Not only that, but because of the design of my particular sling, her weight was causing the fabric to dig into my shoulder. So, ten minutes of carrying her in the sling would result in a painful shoulder and an even more painful hip that would last for days.

Just as I was about to throw my hands in the air in despair, Ergobaby carriers became available in Malta.  I knew that Ergobaby was a very well-respected brand and many of my foreign friends have used it for years, but I was still a little sceptical about trying something different. Still, I decided to try it, hoping it would succeed where the ring sling was failing.

My first impression when I received it was of a very well made product. The box it came in actually got me all excited about it. I also LOVE the colour (I chose teal because it makes me happy). It took me a little while to figure out the instructions, even though they were written and illustrated, much to my husband’s amusement. It’s actually very simple once you have worn it a couple of times.

Then it was time to put Ivy in it. Sweet relief! I had got so used to feeling all her weight on my arms and neck that I could not imagine carrying her without feeling pain or discomfort but this was the lightest she had felt in months! Since then, I have used it many times a day to carry her up and down the stairs to our flat whenever we go out and also on a few errands. My husband has taken her for walks in it when she was unsettled and she fell asleep within a couple of minutes. I have also worn her on my back while doing the housework when she wouldn’t be put down and she happily observed what I was doing with wide eyes (and tried to grab everything within her reach).

Many people ask me how I manage to wear my babies in our summer heat. With the ring sling, it was never an issue. It feels exactly the same as carrying the baby in your arms. With other carriers, it does tend to get a little hot. In the case of the Ergo, it falls somewhere in between. I have been using it in temperatures hovering around 30C and both Ivy and I were fine. Having said that, I doubt I will use it when we have one of those heatwaves where the temperature feels like 40C. In that case, I will wait a few days until the temperatures drop a little.

We have only just started using Ergobaby but, judging from the very good experience we’ve had so far with it, we will be using it for a long time to come. Hopefully, Ivy won’t reach the weight limit any time soon!

Disclaimer: This post is sponsored by www.maltamumshop.com, sole authorised resellers of Ergobaby in Malta. All opinions are my own.

8Q9A5670 8Q9A5679 8Q9A5684 8Q9A5688-2 8Q9A5691 8Q9A5722 8Q9A5759

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

