Mondays with TED

The talk I would like to share with you today really struck a chord with me. It is called Why Thinking You’re Ugly is Bad for You.

In this talk, Meaghan Ramsey, Global Director of the Dove Self-Esteem Project, talks about the negative impact that low self confidence can have on a person. Not surprisingly, most of the people who struggle with body image are young girls, about the age of my eldest daughter and I have not one, not two, but three daughters.

I have to admit that I am guilty of not accepting compliments graciously and I often put myself down when I look in a mirror or catch my own reflection in a shop window. Most of the times, my daughters are right next to me, observing my behaviour and listening to my words. Just the other day, Maia told me “You always look beautiful”. My reaction? I snorted and changed subject.

It won’t be easy, but I have decided to try and be kinder to myself, hoping that my own daughters will grow up to do the same. The world will not always be nice to them and I want them to be confident enough, not only in how they look but mostly in who they are, that the world’s opinion won’t matter.

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

