Mondays with TED

Have you heard of Ken Robinson? According to his bio on TED Talks, he’s a creativity expert. According to me, he’s an education expert who also happens to be a parent. Whatever title he is assigned, there is little doubt this man knows what he’s talking about. I have heard all his TED talks many times, both because they give me hope for our children’s future and also because he is just so funny.

In the talk I wanted to share today, he follows up the first TED talk he had given four years earlier. That first talk had gone viral and is still doing the internet rounds today, nine years after he delivered it. In this second talk, he urges us to think about education as something more individual. The formula we use today was developed decades, if not centuries, ago and is not necessarily still relevant.

Another reason I am sharing this talk with you is that our eldest is currently in her last year of primary school. The move to middle school is fraught with stress and tension, mostly on the parents’ side. I notice it everyday at the school gate, during the various meetings we are attending in preparation for their exams and whenever I meet other parents of 10-year-olds. I do not and never will understand why some people stress themselves and their children over something which, in the grand scheme of things, is so irrelevant. While I am not against examinations, I firmly believe that they are not the only way a student’s progress can be tracked. Their work (and notice I said work not results) throughout the school year should be what most concerns us.

But enough of my ranting. Enjoy this gem of a talk!

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

