Some news

Ivy turned eleven months yesterday. I know it’s a cliche’ but I seriously cannot believe she’ll be one in less than a month.

With Maia, I had a pretty clear idea of when I would start her on solid food, how long I would breastfeed her and other such nonsense. Then Robin came along and splitting my energy and time between two children meant that planning milestones was the last thing on my mind. Now, with Ivy, I can barely keep up.

I am still breastfeeding her regularly, I have absolutely no clue how we will celebrate her first birthday (which is a big deal if you know me) and I still wake up twice or three times at night to feed her. This morning, after realising that she had turned 11 months, it also dawned on me that I might want to start expecting some changes from her. Like sleeping through the night. Or eating more and drinking less milk.

There is one thing, however, that I have no intention of changing and that is the use of our carrier. The Ergobaby now comes with me everywhere. Even if she is in her pushchair, I still stuff the carrier in a bag, just in case she wants to be held. I have no idea how much she weighs now but it’s a lot. Just to give you an idea, I can no longer walk up the two floors to our flat while carrying her unless I use the Ergo. This past week, thanks to a cold that turned her into the clingiest of babies, I did most of the housework while wearing her on my back. I really don’t know how I would function without a tool to help me carry her and hold her close.

Speaking of which, I am now the Gozo representative for Maltamum Shop, which is the only authorised retailer of Ergobaby in Malta. I have not tried all the baby carriers in existence but I have tried quite a few in my quest to find one that was both safe for Ivy and comfortable for me and I can honestly say that Ergobaby is by far the best I have tried. I believe so strongly in their products that I agreed to be the point of contact for anyone on the smaller island (aka Gozo) wishing to try them out. If you are interested in seeing, trying or buying any Ergobaby product, drop me a line on islandfairy@hotmail.com or send me a message on Maltamum’s  Facebook page or on the Island Fairy Facebook page. You will not be under any obligation to buy but if you do, every carrier comes with a 30 day full refund guarantee and a Maltamum Card (which entitles the holder to discounts on many goods and services all over the islands). So, really, there is nothing to lose (except that pain in your shoulders and back whenever you carry your baby!).

ergobaby dad

ergobaby backcarry

What are your thoughts? Share them here!

